Green Grocery Bag Challenge

Well, I’ve been a bit AWOL from the blogging world, but I just had to get some Christmas projects done! My son’s advent calendar, a wreath, and some more fabric gift bags…. Still have more to do, but am taking a break tonight to blog….

Have you heard about the Green Grocery Bag Challenge? The ladies at Sew, Mama, Sew are hosting a Holiday Sewing Project Benefiting Mother Earth, the Green Grocery Bag Challenge.

Last year I started making my own gift bags for Christmas and then realized I have a wall full of fabric… Fabric that can be used for gift bags all year long.  And then I came up with a fun fabric bag for books, too.  Tutorials of both coming soon!

I just thought it was a good idea to help get rid of all the trash that goes along with Christmas presents and kids birthday parties. But this year, after seeing Sew, Mama, Sew’s sewing project and their facts about our trash. I’m inspired to keep it up!!! My bags aren’t technically grocery bags, but they are multi-use re-usable bags… 

Check this out:

US consumers generate 4 million tons of wrapping paper and shopping bag waste during the holiday season alone.

and

The US goes through 100 billion single-use plastic grocery bags every year.

Gross!! Are you motivated?

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 688 other followers