Monster Towel Tutorial

I said I was going to make the Towel tutorial ages ago… Thought I had actually. Then this weekend I realized that I had taken all the pictures, but never written the tutorial. So, here we go!

Materials

Old Towel

Old Sheet (or fabric)

Fleece , for eyes and back spikes

Flannel, for eye balls and teeth

Thread

Scissors

Straight edge

Step 1:   Cut all the pieces:

Towel   49 inches wide x 23 inches tall

Fabric side of towel    2 pieces 25 inches wide x 23 inches tall

Towel Side of Hood   2 pieces, 8.5 inches wide x 10 inches tall

Fabric Side of Hood    2 pieces, 8.5 inches wide x 10 inches tall

Teeth   10 pieces, 2 inches wide x 2.5 inches tall

Eyes   2 ovals about 6 inches x 4 inches

Eye balls   2 ovals about 2 inches x 1.5 inches

Back Spikes   14 triangles, 4 inches wide by 5 inches tall

For the hood, round the edge. Stack the 4 hood pieces, and cut a curve. I used a plate to make the curve and came over 3″ from the corner at the top and back. See photo below!

Step 2: Sew together the teeth and back spikes. Right sides together. Trim edges around points and turn right side out. Top stitch back spikes.

Step 3: Sew the eyes. First sew the eyeball fabric to wrong side of eye fleece. Then topstitch the eyes onto the fabric side of hood.

Step 4: Put together fabric side of hood with the scales. Pin hood fabric together, right sides together. Place back spikes between the fabric, with points facing in between the hood fabric. Sew together.

Step 5: Sew the two towel hood pieces together, right sides together.

Step 6: Finish Hood. Pin together the fabric and towel hood pieces. Pin the right sides together and place teeth between with points facing inside.

Step 7: Turn hood right side out and topstitch front edge.

Step 8: Sew together pieces for the fabric side of towel. Pin fabric side, right sides together. Insert the rest of the back spikes, spaced equally and pin with points facing in between the fabric. Sew together.

Step 9: Pin front, back and hood together. Right side of fabric to right side towel. Insert hood. Align seam of fabric side of hood with seam of fabric side of towel. Right side of fabric hood to right side of fabric side of towel.

Step 10: Stitch together along outside of rectangle. Leave a hole about 6 to 8 inches. Trim corners.

Step 11: Pull towel through the hole, right side out.

Step 12: Topstitch.

Step 13: Bathe that little one and wrap him/her in the monster towel.

Tip… Don’t tell the little one that he’s a scary monster! My son loved his monster towel, but too many silly scary monster jokes and now he’s scared of it…. I’m trying to convince him that’s it’s a googly eyed silly nice monster towel….

This was actually the second tutorial I photographed and I obviously missed a couple photographs for some of the steps. I hope it’s easy to understand despite the lack of photos. Please let me know if anything is confusing! And do show pictures of your monster towels!

Comments

  1. This is so cute. I totally want to make one for my daughter! Thanks for sharing!

    Anna
    http://www.askannamoseley.com

  2. Very cute! I’ll have to make one for an upcoming baby shower.

  3. This is so cute! I can hardly stand it! i really like the colors you chose too.

    • lwackerman says:

      Thanks!! Maybe I can make one for the little one on the way! (but maybe something different from a monster??? Hmmmm….)

  4. so cutee..! i really want to make this for my baby-to-be…>.<

    • lwackerman says:

      Congratulations on the baby! I’d love to see it if you do. I’m trying to come up with a different idea for a baby girl for a smaller towel…. trust me, you’ll see it if I do it! :)

  5. What a cute towel and a great gift idea for little ones. Thanks for sharing :)

  6. This is great! It’s such a cute idea. Also, I have pillow cases in that same sheet fabric you used. Funny to see it turned into a cute monster!
    x Katherine

  7. judith wilde says:

    Delightful idea but in my house by the time I declare a towel to be “old” it is really old. I will wait for a towel sale so the lovely finished product will be suitable for an in-or-out-of-family gift.

  8. Rachael says:

    Hello, a bit late to the party here, but wanting to make one of these. Your hood fabric seems to have a curve cut into it, but your instructions don’t mention that. Did you just cut a gradual curve from a piece of fabric originally cut to the dimensions you mentioned?

    • Thanks for pointing that out! I cut the curve, down 3″ from the top and over 3″ from the back and used a plate to make the curve. The photo below the cutting list should help explain this. Let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks!

  9. My Grandson’s 3rd bday is in Nov….the theme is MONSTERS!!….thank you fr one of his gifts from Grandma :)

Trackbacks

  1. [...] Cool! Remember the monster towel tutorial I [...]

  2. [...] Monster Towel Tutorial [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 678 other followers