Super M!

My son wants his own island playmat. And he’s been after me everyday asking about his playmat….

Yesterday was a rough day. I needed to make something (for my own sanity) and I need to make my son something to occupy him while the play mat is getting made.

And wha-la it’s Super M!

The other day I saw this tutorial for a cape from Southern Institute for Domestic Arts and Crafts and loved it! I added it to my to do list right away. I must have been so excited that I added it twice….

It was amazingly simple. It took all of about 30 minutes. And if i hadn’t had to keep running upstairs, it might have been even quicker!

I started with a t-shirt from Dad’s ‘to Goodwill’ bag and a half hour later had a cape.

     

A little no sew velcro and a little no sew heat n’bond for the applique = no sewing machine required!

I love how the star and the M turned out! He wasn’t quite as excited. I asked if he wanted to go outside and fly like the other superheros and he said, ‘No, I can’t fly. I don’t have wings.’

And back to the play mat…. I got the backing fabric last night and the sand fabric. I have run out of pieces from my recycled stash for the sand. I still have water fabric from the others I had made. He loves it. We had to take the fabric into the bed for our before bed book reading…. Here’s a peek… Now I want more so I can cut the bubbles out and make bubble pillows….

 

What projects are your kids waiting on????

Comments

  1. AWESOME!! I love the star and M. Will you post the pic to the flickr group? The link is http://www.flickr.com/groups/thesoutherninstitute/

  2. What kind of fabric is the applique? I’m making 20 superhero capes for my son’s 4th birthday party and would love to know!

    Thanks!

    • lwackerman says:

      Sounds like fun! I’ve been thinking about doing a super hero party for my little guy and making cape favors! For the applique I used the Heat n’ Bond iron on adhesive. I iron it on a cotton fabric, hen cut it out, remove the paper and then iron it on the cape. Super easy! Let me know if you have any other questions!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] started with the t-shirt cape pattern (hint hint… more t-shirt fun to come this week!) from the one I made for Max. Cut out [...]

  2. [...] to say, one of the cutest and easiest projects on her blog is the super hero cape project. I made one for my son and he still wears it. And wears it around town. It’s brought many fine memories to our family [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers