Fabric Flower Tutorial

Yes, finally! I meant to do this tutorial a while ago, back when I made this dress for Little Dresses For Africa. And honestly, I forgot about it! After finding all sorts of great flower tutorials online, I just didn’t find the exact one I wanted. So I made my own…

 Fabric Flower Tutorial

 

Materials:

Fabric

Scissors

Thread

Button

Loop Turner, optional.  

Step 1:  Cut out a spiral from the fabric.

Step 2:  Fold the fabric in half, right sides together, and pin.

Step 3:  Sew the two sides together, gathering fabric. Be sure to leave a hole in one end.

Step 4:  Pull the fabric through so that the right sides are out. Iron flat and sew the hole closed.

I use the loop turner, but you can do it many ways. I used to just use a safety pin and push it through. Then one day a friend of mine decided she needed a loop turner and convinced me I needed one too.  I got one two despite the fact I didn’t think I needed all these ‘gadgets’, ‘The safety pin trick works just fine.’ Yep, she was right, it’s very helpful!

Step 5:  Position the outer circle of the flower and pin.

Step 6:  Hand stitch the flower to the dress, or whatever beautiful piece you’re adding it to. Start with the outside petals and work your way around and around and around and…. ‘Til you get to the center.

Step 7:  Sew the button in the middle.

And we’re done!

What are you sewing your flower on?

 

 

I’ve linked to these parties:

 

Comments

  1. Beautiful fabric flower… Thanks for the tutorial!

  2. jenny mullins says:

    I am very impressed!
    So that’s a loop turner!
    Didn’t know there was such a thing!

  3. Angel Perry says:

    I love this! I love making felt flowers but haven’t dappled with cloth yet. Looks so fun!

  4. Thanks so much for this great tutorial!!! The pictures are amazing and super helpful! I can’t wait to make one!!!

    • lwackerman says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you like the pictures, too. I always loving hearing that! :) Let me know if you make one. I need to start a flickr page for reader projects!

  5. Hi. I found you through SIDAC. What a lovely flower! Thanks for the tutorial. I’ll have to try it sometime.

  6. Great addition to any outfit!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] Winter Paper Cut, Monster Towel, Fabric Flower [...]

  2. [...] like the way this Fabric Flower from I’m Feelin’ Crafty is cut in a spiral, making it curve [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 631 other followers