Upcycled Drum with Tutorial

Well, I said the other day that I made something, just not kids clothes. Here it is… An upcycled drum!

I have been stockpiling my Charlie’s Soap canisters with the idea that they had to be good for something! But what…. I had totally given up on coming up with anything. In the meantime, my friend blogger Jenny from Southern Institute for Domestic Arts and Crafts, agreed to come up with something to do with these canisters. Check back on Wednesday to see what she came up with.

Then one night my son was drumming on something and it came to me, ‘Charlie’s Soap canisters equals cool drum’. I told my husband and he kinda shrugged it off as not being a very impressive idea. I had to go out that night, but when I came home, what did I find?? The canister had been turned into a drum! ahhhhh… (I don’t think I said I told you so!)

So here’s how I did it!

Materials:

Charlie’s Soap canister

Mod Podge

Brown Tissue Paper

Sponge Paint Brush

Fabric

Yarn

Thread

Knife

Scissors

Ribbon

 

Step 1: Cover the top of the  lid with the Mod Podge and glue on the tissue paper.

Step 2: Paint Mod Podge on sides of the lid and fold over the tissue paper. Be careful because the tissue paper wanted to tear during this step! Then set the lid aside and let dry.

Step 3: Measure the container. For the Charlie’s Soap it was 15.5 x 3.5 including my small seam allowances.

Step 4: Sew the fabric. First the edge seam allowances and then sew the ends together.

Step 5: Mark the holes to punch. I spaced mine approximately 2 inches apart. then stagger the top holes between the bottom holes. At each mark, you’ll want two holes. One for the yarn to go in and one for the yarn to come out. I used a push pin to punch the holes.

Step 6: Thread the yarn through the holes. I did enlist the use of needle nose pliers at this step to help pull the needle through the holes.

Step 7: Back to the lid. Cute off the excess tissue paper.

Step 8: Cut additional holes for the ribbon, through the fabric and canister. I used an exacto for this.

and wah-la… A really cool drum!

here’s the before and after shot…

 And the kiddo and his Marching Band of One

What would you make with a Charlie’s Soap canister?

linked to

Comments

  1. This is awesome! My kids would love a project like this. I would LOVE to have you share this at my For the Kids Link Party! Stop on by and join the fun!

    http://sunscholars.blogspot.com/2011/05/for-kids-friday-11.html

  2. Very cute! I need to try this for my drum-lovin’ gal!

  3. I *love* this project!! Fun and eco-friendly… perfect! : )

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 717 other followers