A Guest Interview with Celebrations at Home

I follow a lot of blogs. And I follow a lot of party blogs. One of my most favorite party blogs is Celebrations at Home. The variety is just amazing! All sorts of parties! Styled parties, DIY parties inspirational parties and more!! Just last week she showcased a really cool monster party!!! Loved it!
Today we’re lucky to have Chris, the style and creative juice behind Celebrations at Home, here to answer some questions for us! So enough from me, let’s see what she has to say!
When a client comes to you to plan their event, but has no clue of a theme, where in the world do you start?
This is when you need to begin asking questions – lots of them – to get to know their personality, their interests, a back story, and anything else that will help to determine a theme, even if it‘s just a color scheme to work with. I will also suggest some ideas that we can customize to their needs. It’s all about the customization.

Let’s chat about food! And I’m going straight to the dessert table! I’ve seen some fantastic dessert tables on your blog. Do you have any tips on setting up a dessert table?

Dessert tables have become such a focal point and in my mind there are 2 different routes you can take. On the one hand you could follow the styling of Amy Atlas who is very modern, sleek, minimalist, and for the most part symmetrical. On the other hand, we have Marie of Sweets Indeed who is very eclectic and creates small vignettes which display the food in interesting ways. I love both styles, and they are easy to re-create when you follow a few basic design principles. The main thing is to go for balance, and an easy flow for the eyes – much like interior decorating. I usually begin with the center or the 2 ends and create height. From there you can add varying levels and rows to fill in the blank table space. One thing I hate to see is too much of the table showing because people spread all the dishes out to take up the area available. Instead, bring it all closer together so it looks more deliberate, and it actually looks more abundant. If you don’t have enough food, add a vase of flowers or sculptural piece to the presentation.

Any tips on setting up a food table that people will be getting finger foods from, yet there will also be people sitting at the table? Or would you just find another table!?

I would certainly suggest finding another table. There is always a desk, dresser, coffee table, or even book shelf you could use to display the food so people aren’t reaching over one another at a seated table.

Do you have a favorite tip that you learned and you wouldn’t do a party without? One that you’re willing to share?

Of course – Real Flowers. I realized years ago that they really do elevate the presentation of a party from one that is pretty good to one that is fabulous. Again, this is an old interior design principle to add “life” to a space. You don’t have to go overboard or break the bank either. A row of bud vases filled with a single flower each has great impact.

What was your favorite event that you’ve done recently?

How could I not say working on the Operation Shower event at Camp LeJeune in April?! I got to work/socialize with my friend Amy again (Chief Event Organizer), I met Jenn (HWTM) who was a real doll, was in the presence of Michelle Obama, and Martha Stewart, and helped set up a gorgeous shower for military moms-to-be, all at the same time. What a couple of days it was!

I love favors, and try to always make them something that will be used again and again. What are your thoughts on party favors? All parties? Just particular parties?

Truth be told, I was never a big favor person until I got into the biz. Now, I hate to do a party without them. It’s like the punctuation mark at the end of the event. Personally I prefer edible treats or things that can be used up. However there are some good options that people will use over and over – attractive tote bags you can find for about 99 cents, filled with goodies; an activity at kids parties which becomes the take home favor; something monogrammed or personalized to each guest, etc.

When you aren’t planning a party, how do you like to spend your time?

Is there such a time?? Lol I spend time with my husband and 2 kids of course; I love ladies night with the girls; I love shopping, trying new recipes, and sipping wine. I need to get back on the workout wagon too!

What is the next project on your to do list?

Now that my website has been updated and re-launched I finally have time to focus on my “real” work again. Happily, I have several styling projects in the works – things for the web; I’m planning to volunteer at the next Operation Shower event in Norfolk in the fall; a possible client party; and a few personal goals I’m working toward regarding my business. I’ve had a few other opportunities come up as well, but we’ll see if they work out…
Thanks so much for joining us Chris!!!
Be sure to check Chris out at her website, on facebook and on twitter!
Trackbacks

  1. [...] also wanted to share a link to Feelin’ Crafty, where I did an interview.  Louise asked some good questions and I hope you’ll enjoy reading [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 678 other followers