Curious George Dressed Up Like a Monster

I have this thing about making Halloween Costumes! not sure exactly where it came from… But it’s there, so I’m going with it until my son protests the Momma made costumes. The first one was Max from Where the Wild Things Are and last year was a Fireman.

I can’t remember if I mentioned this before or not, but of all things my 3 year old could have wanted to be for Halloween he chose Curious George Dressed Up Like a Monster! Once I asked, before the Curious George idea, he wanted to be the ‘Yes Man and the No Man.’ And then it was the ‘Guy Who Holds Up Signs’…. Ummmmm… No idea what those were, so I was super excited when the Curious George Dressed Up LIke a Monster came around. And he’s stuck with it for a few months now.

Some friends tried to make it easier for me by saying why not just a monkey or why not just a monster. But no, I was totally excited about his creativity in coming up with such a fun costume idea. So that’s what he got!

First I made the monkey costume. Nothing too creative. Basic pattern. Easy. Well, except for the hat… This is the fourth rendition. I just couldn’t get it to fit him… I wanted to get that perfect shape of brown around the face that makes Curious George recognizable as Curious George. The first one was nothing like what I wanted, but then as I started altering the pattern it kinda got bigger. Anyway… It’s cute none the less….

Second. The monster. How to make the monster part?? I kept trying to figure out how to make it part of the monkey costume. But then it hit me… He wanted to be Curious George Dressed Up Like a Monster. So why wouldn’t Curious George be wearing a costume! So, then came the hooded cape idea! Then once that came, the rest of it just fell together as I was going along. Including the scaley monster skin, AKA yarn pom-poms (recycled Dr. Seuss party decorations!).

And together we were The Man with The Yellow Hat and Curious George Dressed Up Like a Monster.

One of my favorite parts of the evening…. We had such a blast, there were many memories that made an impression, but this one… As the evening wore on the kiddos started slowing down. His buddy took a little snack break, so my son decided to take a little break as well. Right in the middle of the sidewalk. He just needed ‘a little rest’ while he waited on his ballerina buddy!

I hope everyone else had as much fun as we did!!

Shared with:

Visit thecsiproject.com

Comments

  1. too cute! I love his ‘little rest’

  2. I LOVE his costume! What a creative little mind to come up with that! I can’t wait until Eli is old enough to tell me what he wants to be for Halloween! This year, he was Curious George & my Hubby was the Man with the Yellow Hat… love that you did the same thing!!

  3. My 18 mo when asked what she wants to be for Halloween said George. So – I doubt she knows what I am asking her, but I thought we could do Curious George. Did you use a pattern?

    • I did use a pattern for the Curious George costume. But which one??? I’m pretty sure it was Butterick K3099. It was actually a bear costume, but I altered it a bit to be moe like a monkey. The monster part, I just winged that part.

Trackbacks

  1. [...] All the paper products and plastic ware were purchase at a local Dollar store. The perfect colors! I made the mini pops using this tutorial via The Baker’s Twine. I used my fingers instead of a fork. Super easy! And then they came in handy for our Halloween Costume! [...]

  2. [...] Curious George Dressed Up Like A Monster, Project Organization, Halloween Paper Cut [...]

  3. [...] Curious George Dressed Up Like a Monster [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 688 other followers