Dr. Seuss Party Series- Invites!

It’s been a few weeks since our Dr. Seuss Party, but with all the fun Halloween activities I decided to hold off on detailing everything from our party. So the next two weeks will be posts featuring all the details, including printables, recipes and tutorials from our Cat in the Hat party!

Today, the Invites!

I get evites all the time. But remember when you were a kid and how exciting it was to get mail? And especially mail that invited you to a PARTY!!!! Oh, yea! I remember LOVING those days! So I decided, I’m over evites. No more evites… Well, I won’t write it off for good, but for the most part, I’m done.

And I’m so glad  I did! I heard how excited some of the kiddos were when they got their invitations in the mail. A couple of people actually lost the invites because the kiddos carried them around the house so much. One little lady danced around the house with her invite for hours. Now if that doesn’t make it all worth it, I don’t know what else would.

I also have an issue with designing my own cards. I typically don’t buy standard off the shelves stationary and cards! Personalized stationary, Christmas cards and now Birthday invitations! So that’s what I did here. I designed the invites and address labels and then lined the envelopes. which brings me today’s tutorial….

How to line your own envelopes… Pretty simple, but adds a beautiful personalized touch.

Materials:

Cat in the Hat books

Envelopes

Cutting mat

Exacto Knife

straight edge ruler

Thin Cardboard

Pen

Glue Stick

Full Size Labels

Step 1: Trace your envelope on to the cardboard.

Step 2: Draw a line on the cardboard at the edge of the envelopes glue line.

Step 3: Draw the template for the liner by drawing lines inside the envelope outline by about a 1/4″ on each side, including inside the glue-line line.

Step 4: Cut out the cardboard template.

Step 5: Layout the template inside the envelope to check the layout and make any adjustments to the template.

Step 6: Here’s the part that caused me the most pain…. I cringe when I even fold over a page in a book, much less cut one! So for this step, Tear out the pages from the books that you want to use as liners.

Warning: Do not let your 3 year olds (or any age for that matter) see you do this step. My son lost it! I was working on this during his nap time. When he woke up and saw me cutting…. His response was, ‘NOOOOOOO!!!!! That’s MY BOOOOOKKKKKK! We don’t cut books, Momma! Noooooo!’ So my suggestion is to do this while the kids are sleeping or at school because trying to explain why you can cut this book, but they can’t cut or tear or throw books… Well, not such an easy task!

Step 7: Using the template, cut the pages.

Step 8: Glue the liners. I always use a few pieces of scrap paper to glue on. When you glue, you don’t have to glue the whole page, just the top portion. Not gluing the whole piece makes getting the liner in the envelope easier.

Step 9: Insert the liner into the envelope and secure.

Step 10: Print the labels using the full size labels. You can download the blank labels here. The font I used is Doctor Soos Light and Bold. Open the file with any program you have and add your text.  To use in Microsoft Word, add a text box on top of the picture to add your text.

Step 11: Cut out the labels.

Step 12: Adhere the labels and you’re done!

And don’t forget the Thank You’s! I’ve found that there are two schools of thought on thank you notes. There’s those who have thank you written on the cards. And there’s the other side….I’ve always adhered to the school of thought that believes Thank You cards should not have Thank You printed on them, the thank you is for you to write. I don’t think either way is right or wrong! But I did go with my way when designing our Thank You cards. You can download the printable thank you card here with the blank address labels here.

*Disclaimer… These printables are for personal use only! As are all of my printables and tutorials, but especially the Dr. Seuss printables. Thank You!

Update…. Unfortunately, the food labels and invites are no longer available for sell or sharing.

Comments

  1. WHAT AN AWESOME IDEA! I BET THIS WAS VERY TIME CONSUMING, BUT THE FINAL PRODUCT TURNED OUT SPECTACULAR! I LAUGHED AT THE PART WHEN YOUR SON CAUGHT YOU CUTTING THE BOOKS – HOW DO YOU EXPLAIN THAT? LOL YOU ARE TRULY ONE CRAFTY LADY! KEEP THE IDEAS COMING, LOVE EM ALL!

  2. Excellent!
    And the invitations (and envelopes) were spectacular!
    Thanks a bunch for sharing!
    I LOVE the Cat holding your instructions, as #1, #2, etc!

  3. I LOVE THIS!!!! Could you please tell me the size of the labels and what brand you used! Do I just use the size of the template?

    Thank you!

    • I printed the labels on a full sheet label and then cut them out. They won’t fit on any regular sized mailing labels! I just printed the template to fit the letter sized paper. So glad you like them! let me know if you have any other questions!

  4. Love, love, every detail. I’m planning my son’s 1st birthday in March. can you please sent me the template for the actual invitation? PLLLEASEEEE!!!

  5. Amanda Holtsclaw says:

    I love, love the actual invitation. It’s exactly what I have been looking for. I am having a thing 1, 2, and 3 party in June for my daughter and b/g twins. Do you have a template for the invite? I would love to have it.

  6. Kristin Atchison says:

    So adorable! Thank you so much for posting!!! Do you have a link to the invite too (or did I miss that?) We are doing a Dr. Seuss party for my daughter who is turning 2 soon and would love to use your invite!

  7. Can you please send me the template for invintation? I would love to use it for a party I’m planning. Thanks.

    • I am not posting the printable for the invite online. I can offer them for a small fee. I personalize them and then send you the printable. Let me know if this is something you’d like to do! Thanks again for the kind comments.

  8. Melody Muhi says:

    Love this! How can I download the template for the labels so I can add the address in a word doc? The link you provided is just a .jpg. We are planning a one year old birthday in a few months and this would cute for the invitations!

  9. Lisa Blackmon says:

    Those are super-cute. How big are the invitations, and where did you get the colored envelopes?

    • The invites are 5×7. The envelopes are a sad sad story… My favorite store, PaperZone, a local shop sold these envelopes in tons of colors for a reasonable price. Well, they just went out of business… I’m so sad! The invites aren’t printables, but for a small fee I will edit and email you a printable.

  10. goddess says:

    THESE ARE BEEEEEYOND AMAZING!

    -T

  11. Can I please get info from you about a personalized Dr. Seuss invite? I love it, love it, love it. Would be so perfect for my daughter’s birthday!

  12. Christina says:

    I am interested in the cards that you have on your food table. Can you please email me any info about them. I would greatly appreciate it!

  13. iamaleciasmith says:

    Love it, love it, love it!!! Planning my son’s 2nd birthday, and searching for inspiration for invites, but this is just too cute and perfect. Can I get some information from you about getting a personalized Dr. Seuss invite?

  14. Love it, love it, love it!!! Planning my son’s 2nd birthday, and searching for inspiration for invites, but this is just too cute and perfect. Can I get some information from you about getting a personalized Dr. Seuss invite?

  15. SaraSilver says:

    These are great. I was wondering if you could share with me where you found the clip art for your invite? I have been searching for something for a print for my children’s room, and this is PERFECT.

  16. Very cute! I did a similar thing for my wedding invitations. ~M.

  17. Stephanie says:

    Hi can you please email me in regards the invitations thanks!

  18. These are AWESOME! I went to your etsy page for prices but you don’t have any of these listed for sale. They would be awesome for my daughter’s party this month!

    • Yes, sorry for any confusion. As the post says, the invites and food labels are no longer for sale. I’ve tried to make sure that this is stated correctly in all my posts. If you see that it says it’s for sale somewhere, please let me know as I’ve missed it! Thank you!

  19. amanda says:

    I love these invites. How do I get my hands on them???

  20. Can u send me template I’d like to use this for my grand baby’s party?!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] no printable, tutorial or recipe today! Today I just wanted to share the fun we [...]

  2. [...] make the cards… I also had to make coordinating envelope liners and address labels (click here for the tutorial. yes, I’m kinda obsessed with liners and wrap around [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 713 other followers