Here Comes Santa Claus with a little Christmas Subway Art Printable

Here comes Santa Claus, Here comes Santa Claus, Right down Santa Claus Lane, And I’ve got a blog that’s filled with toys (i.e.printables) For boys and girls (and grown-ups) again.

A little summer Christmas cheer! This past summer I was out thrift shopping and came across two versions of old ‘Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer’ books and some wonderful vintage blue ornaments. Both of the books were 2 bucks so I snatched them right up!

I didn’t think much about them. Wrapped them up and stuck them on a shelf until just a little while ago… I think I’ve mentioned that my son LOVES Christmas and Rudolph and singing Christmas carols. To add to the fun, we went on a Santa Train adventure and the conductor was full of useless information and could belt out a song without any sense of tune or rhythm. (His singing did end up being one of the most memorable parts of the whole adventure, but I digress…) Anyway, he mentioned the story of Rudolph being a marketing ploy back in 1939. I knew this as well, but the year stuck with me this time. (And why do you tell this story to a train full of little kiddos who still believe in Rudolph, Mr. Conductor???)

Back to the books… So I got the old trifted finds books down and we started reading them and I noticed the date on the really old one… 1939! 1939 is the year that Montgomery Ward had Robert L May write the story for a promotional give away to entice customers! Mine is missing the cover or else it would probably be worth something, but even so I’m sure it’s worth more than the 2 dollars I paid for it. The story is a version that I have never heard before! And the graphic illustrations by Denver Gillen are just awesome!

I want to scan the whole book and print it so that my son can actually play with it and enjoy it without me saying, ‘Nope, that’s just for Momma to read and touch!’ But in the meantime, I made a printable to share (for your personal use only….)

Yes, the words aren’t from ‘Rudolph’, they are from ‘Here Comes Santa Claus’. Did I mention my son loves Christmas carols? Oh, yes, I did! He REALLY loves them. He sings them all the time! I could go on about funny kid stories, but I won’t right now… Anyway… We were listening the other day in the car and Elvis started singing ‘Here Comes Santa Claus’ (on the radio, no Elvis is not alive and riding around Seattle with us!) For some reason the words to the song just really grabbed me. Combining Santa with the true reason of the season… I don’t know why it hit me the other day, but for some reason I fell in love with this song all over again! Hence my printable!

Click here to download.

There are so many beautiful Christmas Carols! What’s your favorite???

And did you see me somewhere in the post??? I’m thinking about using this as my About Page Photo!

ok, Yeah! I’m back to sewing!!!

Shared with these link parties!

and a little disclaimer…  The downloadable jpegs in this post are free for personal use only and are not intended for commercial use. Feel free to blog about it, but always keep to the courteous side of the street and link back and give credit where due! Thanks!!
Comments

  1. This is AMAZING!!! I was looking for a free printable that was vintage looking and had Santa. Thanks so much for the lovely art word!

  2. This is lovely. I’ve just ‘pinned’ it on my Christmas board. Pity I didn’t come across it before Christmas but it’s still nice to keep in mind. Thanks for sharing!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers