Goodbye 2011, Hello 2012

I hope everyone has had a great holiday season where ever you might be and whatever you might belive!

I’m going to start this post by taking a peek at some of my favorite projects from 2011.

Curious George Dressed Up Like A Monster, Project Organization, Halloween Paper Cut

Magnetic Bookmark, Pillowcase Dresses, Dr Seuss Party

Winter Paper Cut, Monster Towel, Fabric Flower

I decided to start by looking back because I needed a little end of the year boost….

Should I make a New Year’s resolution??? I don’t know! My life is so up in the air right now! I don’t know what to do! I’ve been looking for a job, not very intently by any stretch of the imagination. there aren’t many jobs out there for my profession at the moment. Here’s my dilemma… Do I take this opportunity to make my sewing, or crafting, or photography my new profession? I’m grappling with a huge confusion over what to do, how to do it, how to plug in…. I see so many wonderful bloggers writing books, having huge blogs that generate an income (Or a bit of an income anyway), being featured on TV and in magazines and just in general making it by making their creative spirit work for them, and I’m not… So after having said all this, I am taking this time off from work to enjoy my family and my creative spirit! So maybe my first New Year’s resolution should be to take that huge leap of faith to try something different…

image via Dear Musketeer 

I’ve been reading a bunch of other end of the year posts and what I have found the post interesting is despite everyone’s beautiful blogs and happiness that oozes from our daily and weekly posts, not everyone has had a great year. But a lot of us don’t blog about the things don’t make us smile in our personal lives. Yes, I’m sure plenty of people do, but the blogs I follow, you just don’t hear much about ‘those other’ things.

Then Yesterday I was in my end of the year blues and came up with a long list of pity party themes!! And I wanted to write a long blog post detailing everything that I didn’t do this year. I won’t bore you with the details…. Athough for entertainments’ sake, I will tell you the broad range of themes I came up with to sulk about…. Some about blogging, some about my unemployment status, some about my parenting skills, some about my life not being ‘exciting’ enough, some about my lack of architectural prowess, and just some random things….

Luckily for us all my brain just kicked itself in the arse and by the end of the evening I was making fun of myself for some of the thoughts I had!

Then today 2 things happened! I decided to sit down and look at my blog and pick my favorite projects! And secondly, I read this blog post by decor8 about listing your accomplishments rather than your to do list or resolutions that didn’t get done…..

One of my pity party themes was about blogging and being featured on thier blogs. Then I realized, (as my son says) ‘WHAT????‘, I had a great year! And part of that was being featured on other blogs!

My Owl Barn, Prudent Baby, Sugar Bee Crafts

Madigan Made, Freshly Pressed, Stitch Steals

Celebrate the Boy, All the Dragon Wings made by readers and more, The Southern Institute

Thank you, a huge thank you, to all those that featured me and those that made my dragon wings! And thank you to all my guests this year. And lastly, but not the least for sure, thank you to all my readers! You’ve helped make my blogging and crafting/sewing year a success!

image by Drew Melton of The Phraseology Project via Twig and Thistle 

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 717 other followers