Project Quilting- Week 1 Challenge- Architectural Elements

There’s Project Runway, there’s Project Run and Play (which is amazing and very cool) and there’s Project Quilting!

This year, despite my better time management judgement and husband’s advice, have decided to participate in Project Quilting! It’s a crazy and kinda scary time here at our home, but I’ve been wanting to do more small art quilts so I decided to go for it…

The first challenge was issued on Monday and then the quilts have to be done by the following Sunday, which was yesterday. I just barely finished and got mine in on time. Better time management next week, I promise!

Originally, I had planned on using this one picture that I wanted to make into a quilt, but it was all grey and black and for some reason it just wasn’t calling to me. It was a project I worked on for a looong time at my last job. I absolutely love the picture, but I don’t think I had the right fabric to really make it pop!

photo via James and Vilija’s Flickr Photostream

Then I thought of the EMP building in Seattle and this wonderful pink silk fabric I have… That’s when I decided to switch to the colorful from the black and white. Then I found this inspiration photo with the muted tones contrasting with the background color and decided to use that one picture as my inspiration.

My quilt is a pretty literal take on the picture! Since the colors in the siding were actually pretty muted I didn’t even get to use the bright pink silk I had anyway! But I did need to figure out how to get the mottled look and different shades of color being reflected on the silver siding. This is where the use of layers and layers of tulle came in wonderfully useful. I printed the photo at the same size as I wanted the quilt to be. Then I kinda winged most of the pieces. Some pieces I’d loosely trace onto the fabric, but most of them I just eye-balled to get the right size and shape.

If you look closely at the photo, you can see the bolt pattern on the siding. Since, as you know, my new obsession is beading, I was going to bead the bolt pattern onto the quilt. I did almost half of it and then was starting to wonder if it was the right thing to do… The beads stood out a bit more than I wanted them to. Then my husband looked over from his video game and said, ‘Why are you doing that????’ He didn’t like it…. So, out came the beads! Thoughts?

Personally, I like it just the way it is! I’m a little confused on how the judging works, but once I find out how I did in the first challenge, I’ll let you know!

Shared with these link parties!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 721 other followers