The Magnetic Bookmark, again….

This might look familiar to some of you… The magnetic bookmark is actually a tutorial I did to share with my pal Jenny at The Southern Institute. Today I am reposting it here on my blog as well.

And….  Oh, my!! I’m so excited! I was just looking over at The Long Thread for something and ended up re-reading her post on the Top 100 Tutorials of 2011… And my bookmark made the cut! I’m so honored! I love The Long Thread! Wow! I don’t know how I missed it the first time I read the list. But I was just looking and noticed she listed a magnetic bookmark so I went to look closer and noticed that she was linking to Jenny’s blog and I knew it was my tutorial!! ahhh… LOVE IT!

Today I wanted to share my tutorial on a magnetic bookmark. I saw something similar and in good Feelin’ Crafty fashion, I said, ‘I can make that.’ So here it goes!

Step 1: Materials:Scrap Fabric Sew-In Magnets (or any magnets will work really, but I like the sew-in ones) Scissors and/or Rotary Cutter Thread

Step 2:Make the front and/or back. For mine, I did a patchwork side and a one piece side. So Step 2 is to set up the patchwork side. Lay it out and sew it together. So if you want to do the patchwork piece, this step is for you. If not, it’s kinda like the choose your own adventure books (remember those as a kid??) move on to Step 3.

Step 3:Cut the front and back sides to both be 2.5” by 6”.

Step 4:Sew pieces together, right sides together, leaving about a 1” hole.

Step 5:Trim the corners and pull the ends through.
Step 6: Now that it’s right side out, iron the seams flat.
Step 7: Insert the magnet. I try to keep it on one side of the stitch allowance so that it fits down at the bottom just right. Also, don’t forget to make sure that you have your magnets facing right before you sew it closed! You don’t want the magnets to repel each other, because that won’t help you save that special page you were reading.

Step 8:Topstitch. Another tip… The magnets liked to attach themselves to my sewing machine and not let the ‘teeth’ pull the fabric through. So I try to remember to hold the magnet up a little bit as it gets close to the metal teeth on my machine. So, if you are using the sew-in magnets, the magnet will be sewn in while you are topstitching. If you have a regular round craft magnet, you’ll want to also topstitch just above the magnet to keep it in place.

Step 9: Wahlah! You’re done! Turn off the sewing machine and pick up a book. You will no longer have to try to remember where you left off!
Has anyone else made one of these bookmarks?? A group of local moms in my neighborhood have formed a book club, so I’m frantically trying to actually finish one of the books on time! But even if I don’t finish the book, I always know where I am since I have my handy bookmark!
Shared with these link parties!
Comments

  1. I love those magnetic bookmarks. What a great idea!

  2. Sheila Perl says:

    I really like the magnetic bookmarks, but I have never heard of “sew in” magnets! Where do you get this product, and do you sew through the magnet?

    • Thanks for reading my blog! The Sew in magnets are round magnets that are in this little plastic case (kinda)… So you sew through the plastic covering, not the actual magnet. They are great, actually! With the bookmark, you could drop in a regular magnet and then sew across the bookmark above the magnet, which would keep it in place at the bottom.

      I have bad news though… I don’t remember where I got them. I was in NYC in the Fabric District and in one of those stores I found tons of magnets and zippers and snaps… If I can ever remember I’ll update the post twith that information. I also want to go back there next time I’m in NYC, so I do hope I remember. I’ve never seen them at Jo-ann’s or anywhere local to me….

      But, I have good news too…. You can make your own sew in magnets! Here’s the link, http://nicolemdesign.blogspot.com/2008/12/how-to-make-sew-in-magnets.html.

      Thanks again for reading!

  3. Sheila Perl says:

    Thanks so much for answering my questions about the magnet! I went on the site you recommended and now all is clear and I can try my hand on your wonderful magnetic bookmark pattern :)

  4. Very cool and I love your patchwork side!

  5. a very great idea. no more searching for all those lost bookmarkls anymore. ;)

    I linked to your tutorial on my blog – thanks for sharing!

    doro K.

  6. Super cute craft project! Love the choice of fabrics you used! I am always loosing my place in all my books :) this would be great! Going to share on my FB this morning!

  7. I have made many of these to give as small gifts for friends and love them! My one question is this. When the book mark is finished and being used in a book, it doesn’t look nearly as long as yours in the picture even though I started with the 2.5 x 6 fabric back and front. when finished, top stitched, and folded over a book page it is only about 2.5 inches from top of page down into the book. Yours look so much longer. Did I miss a step? Did you show more of the book mark in the picture just to show us what it looks like maybe? I plan on making more for Christmas presents, but wanted to check to make sure I was following directions correctly. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] Fabric Magnetic Book Marks!  from I’m Feeling Crafty. [...]

  2. […] Magnetic Bookmark […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 717 other followers