Something for Me… The Wiksten Tank

I’m not sure, but I have ever posted a project that I’ve done for myself??? I don’t sew for myself very often, so I’m thinking I might not have….  Have you seen the Wiksten Tank? I mentioned it before in my Weekend Whims for the Summer.

This week I’m going to show you the three projects I made while sitting on the front porch of our nice old beach house! I just love sitting out there with the sewing machine and the sound of the waves crashing! Actually a lot of the time it’s dark out when I’m out there making things and the water is still and it’s quiet. Quiet, except for the occasional fish jumping. Love it! Anyway….

So, I made myself a little something! I like it, but want to try again. I used an old sheet, so it’s super soft, but kinda thin… I also want to make the front a little longer on my next one…

The Wiksten pattern is super easy! If only I had measured to make sure I was cutting it large enough (yes, I’m a large gal, hence the reason not many photos of me on the blog….). I’m not very specific when I sew, so I just kinda eye-balled it…. In hindsight, I should have measured…. It ended up a little tight around the ‘ladies’. My husband suggested putting a slit in the back, so I figured out a way to do it and it looks pretty nice I think. But I also think it’s a little odd looking… Obviously, I have mixed feelings about how the back turned out!

The other little problem I had with the pattern was I think it might have printed a little small. The instructions say not to scale it when you print and I didn’t. But I think it might have been a little smaller than it was supposed to be. I cut the binding strips, but they were a little too narrow for the 3/8″ hem the instructions called for. Oh, well. It will worked fine with a narrower hem!

And me… I guess I could have smiled, huh???

And check out the flickr group for the tank and see how cute it is!

 

Shared with these link parties!

Comments

  1. Sheila Perl says:

    Your top is really cute and you are gorgeous!

  2. I love this top! All I ever wear is blue jeans and tshirts. Saw your link on Sugar Bee and I just might have to give this a try! Thanks!

  3. Just discovered your blog via the Wiksten flickr group. This looks very nice on you! I am a big gal too and am a little self conscious about pics of me on my blog as well. I bought the Tova top in pdf form but have yet to make it. I really like her patterns, but well…I wish they came in plus size. Do you have some tips on how to enlarge the pattern? This and the tova top (if you’ve made it). Thanks.

    • I know what you mean!! When I made mine, I laid out the pattern and one of my shirts on top of it to come up with the new size. I didn’t do it very well, though, hence the piece in the back! But I’m going to try again and when I do, I’ll let you know how it works out! I agree, I’d love it if they were in plus sizes!! I haven’t made the Tova top, I’ll have to check that one out!

  4. Thanks for posting a picture of yourself – you look great in the tank and are an inspiration to those of us who are “not” a tiny size…

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers