Kids Clothes Week Challenge- Day 3

More pants! Today’s project is the Treasure Pocket Pants from the Sewing for Boys book.

I think it’s a cute little pattern, but I changed a few things. You’ll never belive where the name of these pants come from… OK, maybe the cute pockets on the sides give it away after all!  The first thing different that I did was make the side panels with the pocket, a bit thinner. The pants were a little too full for my little guy, so I slimmed them down a little.

I also changed the top elastic waist. the pattern calls for two pieces of elastic, but to me it looks la little too frufru, so I changed it to just one piece of elastic! Not that it’s not cute, but for us, I like just the single piece of elastic.

I also a great time doing the little stitching details to make ethem look a little more professional!

They are pretty cute.

Have you seen this book? It’s got some great patterns in it. I think this might just be my new favorite pants pattern…. hmmmm…..

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. These are so cute! I love the plaid contrast. I just made my first pair of these last week, and I was so pleased with how they turned out, but I did notice that the sizing is WAY generous and they are very wide-legged. I would definitely want to cut down on the width if I was using a heavier fabric, just to reduce bulk. The side pockets are a major hit with the kiddo, though.

  2. I love these! God knows how hard it is to find cute boy’s clothes…the girls section seems to keep creeping over to the boys side :) So fun and unique…I may have to blow the dust off my sewing machine and FINALLY learn how to use it!

    • I know what you mean. The other day at Macy’s I asked the lady where the rest of the boys deptartment was! I was seriously confused. Boys section was just a little section of sweats and a little Polo section, the rest was girls. She laughed at me! I was shocked that there was basically no boys dept!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] loved the pattern for the Treasure Pocket Pants from Sewing For Boys that I made the other day. A pretty easy pattern and I loved the fake fly! So I [...]

  2. [...] The treasure pocket pants. I finished them the other day, but they were WAY too loose on the kiddo. And I didn’t like [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 721 other followers