Gee’s Bend- A Giveaway!

All right! I’m still on a roll with my family’s adventures down South! I’m so excited about all the kind words about the Steel Quilt Company that I found and about the giveaway piece! The Doo Nanny was tons of fun… Our next art stop was Gee’s Bend! This week I can’t wait to show you what I found when I visited Gee’s Bend, Alabama. I had such a great time!! The husband and son… They were very sweet and patient. Honestly, they weren’t nearly as excited to be there as I was!!

And to kick off this week, I’m starting with a Giveaway for a little piece of Gee’s Bend. While I was there I couldn’t help but think about my blog and my readers and I picked up a little piece to share with you! Unfortunately, I couldn’t get ya a full on quilt ’cause they are slightly out of my price range… But I hope you like this little signed piece of Gee’s Bend quilting! I LOVE this potholder!

You can use it as a potholder… Or frame it, since it is a beautiful piece of textile art! It’s up to you!! One thing I loved about everything in the Collective is that each piece is signed and dated by the artist and stamped with their Gee’s Bend Collective stamp!

Ohhh, be sure to check back through the week for more from Gee’s Bend!

Ready to WIN? You have FIVE ways to enter! And come back and leave a separate comment on this post for each entry!

1) Leave a comment below telling us if you’ve ever been to Gee’s Bend and if you’re as obsessed with their work as I am! Leave one comment. (one entry)

2) Become a fan of Feelin’ Crafty on Facebook. Leave one comment. (one entry)

3) Subscribe to Feelin’ Crafty. Leave one comment. (one entry)

4) Share the Giveaway on your blog/FB/tweet. Leave one comment. (one entry)

That’s 4 possible entries! You must comment on this post to win. The giveaway will close on Friday, May 25 at 5 p.m. PST. and I’ll choose one winner using Random.org.

This giveaway is for open to everyone near and far!

This giveaway is a part of Sew Mama Sew’s 2012 Spring Giveaway Day!

This giveaway is not sponsored by Gee’s Bend or any of the Gee’s Bend artists. This is a giveaway that was purchased by myself for my readers. To purchase your own piece of Gee’s Bend Art, please contact the Gee’s Bend Collective directly at 334-573-2323.

Comments

  1. disincentive says:

    I have never been to Gee’s Bend :( /fetachan@gmail.com

  2. Elisabetta says:

    I am your e-mail follower

  3. Elisabetta says:

    I’ve never been to Gee’s Bend until now and I don’t know their work, but thanks to you they’ll be famous! ^^)

  4. Elisabetta says:
  5. Mary Mac says:

    No sadly I have never been. It sounds wonderful. As for this piece I would have to hang it up as a art work, to pretty to use.

  6. mary mac says:

    I subscribe

  7. I’ve never been to Gee’s Bend, but I sure do admire the work they have done and are doing!

  8. Sheila Perl says:

    You see and go to the most interesting places! :)

  9. Yes! I am obsessed; but sadly, no, I’ve never been there. I did get to see the traveling exhibit of Gee’s Bend quilts when it was at the Whitney Museum of Art in NYC though. I covet the exhibition catalog and always look (in vain) for it at used book stores. Thanks for giving this as a prize; it’s truly something that would be a prized possession!

  10. I follow your blog quite happily.

  11. I have never been to Gee’s Bend but you make me want to.

  12. I follow you on facebook

  13. I am subscribed via email

  14. I posted your giveaway on my facebook
    http://www.facebook.com/JeanneMeyersG/posts/471903842825612

  15. Never heard Gee’s Bend till now

  16. Follow on FB

  17. thanks for the great giveaway! no, I’ve never been :(

  18. I have never been, but every time i look through a Gee’s bend monograph, my heart swoons (i’m erin (at) gmail DOT com )

  19. I have never been, but every time i look through a Gee’s bend monograph, my heart swoons (i’m erinfae (at) gmail DOT com )

  20. I’ve never been to Gee’s Bend, but I produced the play (by Elyzabeth Gregory Wilder) a few years ago. It was wonderful!

  21. Lisa Garrett says:

    I have never been to zgee’s Bend but I would love to go!

  22. I have never been….will check it out!

  23. Hi
    I’ve never been to Gee Bend but have enjoyed so much reading in my quilt mags about them. They are all such a work of art, I just love their pieces. Isn’t it great they are still making more?
    It would be an honor to own one of their quilts. I would frame it and cherish it forever.
    Thanks for letting me travel with you, all your great pictures and links to each artists place. I had so much fun looking. Never been to Alabama, but now would love to go. Just a little far from Washington state, darn.

  24. I live in Northeast Alabama and a couple of the Gee’s Bend quilters came to our library during Black History Month one year. Here’s the video I shot of their visit. I’ve never been to Gee’s Bend…yet!

  25. I’ve never been to Gee’s Bend but I did see the quilters at Sisters last year. This is a fabulous little quilt!

  26. I saw the Gee’s Bend quilters when they came to our Art Museum a few years back….what work!

  27. Fan on Facebook.

  28. subscribed to your newsletter

  29. Hi It is my first time that I visited your blog, I want to learn about Gee´s Bend, in my country I couldn´t fine information about her works.

    Thanks.

    Alexandra Abarca Chinchilla
    Apartado postal 10923-1000
    San José, Costa Rica

    aleabarca612@gmail.com

  30. racergirl1313 says:

    I’ve never been to Gee’s Bend, but I do love the work of the Gee’s Bend quilters. Thanks!

  31. nostephot says:

    nope, never got to see the but wish I had. I love them!!!!! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  32. Claire C says:

    Please enter me in your comp, thankyou

  33. Claire C says:

    I have liked you on facebook

  34. Claire C says:

    Have also subscibed for your email

  35. knittingdancer says:

    I live in northwest Alabama and have read several newspaper articles on the Gee Bend quilters. I need to take a day trip to check them out.

  36. i’ve never been, but i’m intrigued by your enthusiasm and will do some research, thanks!

  37. i’m an email subscriber, thanks.

  38. Nancy L says:

    I’ve never been to Gee’s Bend but since being introduced to their quilts, I am absolutely stunned by the work. One day maybe. Thank you for a chance to win.

  39. I have never been to Gees bend.

  40. I haven’t been there, but I will have to go now! That is an adorable piece of work!

  41. I like Feeling Crafty on FB – Cari S.

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com!

  42. Lyn Smith says:

    I’ve never been to Gees Bend, but a display of their quilts came out to Australia several years ago & I fell in love with them. lyn.robyn.smith@gmail.com

  43. Lyn Smith says:

    I’m a follower by email. lyn.robyn.smith@gmail.com

  44. I have no idea what Gee’s Bend is…hahahahaha…

    xo Steph

  45. I’ve never been there but I love their work!

  46. I haven’t been to the area but have read a lot about them. I am fascinated with their work.

  47. I subscribed. Thank you.

  48. NO I have never heard of Gee’s band! Thanks for the giveaway! Amy @ gasudimack(at)sbcglobal(dot)net

  49. Julia Carter says:

    i am following via email

  50. Julia Carter says:

    no i have never been :(

  51. BreannaS says:

    I have never been to gees bend

  52. I have heard of Gee’s Bend and looked at some of their things but they are just too far away – I can’t jsut hop over the big pond ofr a weekend ..

  53. I went to an exhibition at De Young museum in SF. It was fascinating:) Thanks so much!

  54. That’s a lovely piece of work! Thanks for hosting such a wonderful giveaway. :-) I must admit I’ve never heard of Gee’s Bend, so thanks for opening my eyes to it!

    macska at gmail dot com

  55. Kelly Sas says:

    Oh my!!! A real piece of Gee’s Bend!!! I would be so honored to have something these amazing women have made! It has been at least 12 years ago when the Gee’s Bend came to the Milwaukee Art Museum. I had been quilting then for only about 5 years and I HAD to see that exhibit. It was AMAZING. I have been a Gee’s Bend fan every since. Thank you for thinking of us and purchasing this piece just for one of your readers!

  56. Kelly Sas says:

    I have “liked” you on FB since the first day I found your blog! Don’t want to risk missing anything! tee hee

  57. Kelly Sas says:

    I am now a subscriber to your website too! I did it through Google Reader (my name is buckskinbelle through that I believe – Kelly Sas)

  58. Lori Smanski says:

    i have never been there, but it sounds like a blast

  59. Margaret Cureton says:

    Great potholder!
    Thanks for the chance to win:)
    Margaret
    curetons5@verizon.net

  60. Margaret Cureton says:

    Subscribed to your blog- oh and no-have never heard of Gee’s bend before- glad to meet it;)
    Margaret
    curetons5@verizon.net

Trackbacks

  1. [...] And lastly, did you sign up to win the Gee’s Bend Giveaway? [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers