Weekend Whims- Laminated Cotton!

Sorry for a bit of a quiet week last week…. My computer crashed and I freaked, thinking I’d lost everything! I took it in and found out that it was a really bad virus. They were able to back up all my data!! Yeah!! And then they had to wipe the computer and start over. I finally got it back today…

In the meantime, I’ve been obsessing over laminated fabric! Have you ever used it? I want to make a purse out of it. And a rain coat for my son so he doesn’t have to keep wearing his winter raincoat. He’s also requested on for his stuffed dog…   here are some of my favorites!

I love this Nicey Jane Lindy Leaf. It comes in both the blue version and the pink. But for my new purse, I wanted a coordinating fabric and the blue one has this Nicey Jane Hop Dot Cream.

What do you think of this set? I love them all, but together? I was thinking the one in the middle, the Timeless Treasures Sunny Daze Flowers Blue would be the main fabric, with pockets or side panels out of the green,  Greenhouse ButtonWood Grass and the trim would be the yellow, Sunny Happy Skies Cotton Lace Yellow.

I also like this set, but does it look too much like a diaper bag?? I love the Logan Cotton Blossoms Pink with the Michael Miller Dumb Dot in black and white.

But I think this one is my favorite set….  The main fabric would be the floral, Heather Bailey Freshcut Cotton Groovy Olive. The pockets and trim prices would be the others. The green is Greenhouse Buttonwood Grass. The yellow is the same as in the set above, Sunny Happy Skies Lace Yellow. And the pink is Michael Miller Lush Happy Dot Pink.

Ok, one more… I like this one a lot too…. Like the one above, the main fabric would be the funky floral, Anna Maria Horner LouLouthi Summer Totem Tart. The pink and the yellow are the same pattern, just different colors, Sunny Happy Skies Lace. And the awesome blue on  is by Amy Butler, Soul Blossoms Temple Doors Deep Water.

And for the kiddo… I love love love the Dr Seuss ones! But he wasn’t interested… Hmmm… Is he really my kid? Dr Seuss isn’t his first choice?? The Urban Zoologie is awesome! I love all their characters, especially the owls. But the kiddo picked the monkeys for his rain coat.

Ok, I need your help! The new bag is going to be a kinda messenger bag, but I don’t want it to look like a diaper bag… So which fabric collection would you pick? I’m horrible at making decisions, so I’d love to hear which one you’d pick!!

all the fabrics I picked are avaialable at Fabric.com

More next week. So glad to have the computer back and running!!

Comments

  1. My fave is the floral cotton groovy with the lush pink! Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. Sheila Perl says:

    My favourite set of fabrics is the Heather Bailey Freshcut Cotton Groovy Olive with the beautiful pink, green and yellow accents! Gorgeous :)
    I’m with your kiddo on his jacket choice—love those monkeys!

  3. I agree, stick with the floral and groovy olive, I think they are lovely together. Sew on…..

  4. Laminated cotton?! Is that like oilcloth?
    I love the funky floral set w/ the pink, yellow and blue accent fabrics. I also like the very first set b/c it has a retro feel to it.

    • It feels like oilcloth kinda, but it’s actually quilting cotton fabric that is laminated with a polyurethane coating. Typically it does not contain the bad stuff like Phthalates. It’s pretty cool stuff actually! Not cheap, but lovely for the right project!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 688 other followers