Process Post- Modernista Swap

Wow! Its been a while since I’ve posted a Process Post, it seems like! I had such a  good time with my Modern She Made Swap, that I joined another one… This one is the Modernista Homemade swap. I can’t say too much about it, but I’m thinking birds…. On a sewing machine cover!

These are some bird characters I’ve been wanting to make into a quilt since I first started quilting! I love them, but am not sure others will love them as much as I do. I considered doing this piece for the Modern She Made swap, too, but then decided on the pin wheels.

Then there’s the birds in a tree idea… This would be a blue and green strip quilt with the tree quilted in, but the birds appliqued. This isn’t my favorite….

And then there’s the wonky log cabin with a bird on it! I’m thinking mostly white with pops of blue and green… Not sure if the mostly white is the right direction or not, though….

And my last idea is one I’m calling the Mod tree…. With little birds flying out from the tree. Background white or a light, light blue…

Thoughts??? Can you help me make a decision??? Thanks!

Comments

  1. I already left a comment on Flickr but oh well.
    I really like your ideas and now that you mentionned it, the birds with the tree isn’t my favorite either. I think the one I like the most is the one you like the most too – the one with the birds holding a little banner.
    Theses drawings are just so cute that if I’m your partner, you can send them as the second item and I’ll be happy to frame them :p

  2. The Mod Tree is my favourite – minimalist but colourful! The birds are specially cute.

  3. Margaret Cureton says:

    Mod Tree is my favorite- and you’ll give us a tutorial so we can have our own “Mod Tree”- please:)))))?

    • I’m kinda leaning towards that one too! But I kinda want to make that one a bit bigger than a sewing machine cover too… But, if you know me, I’ll for sure make a tutorial! :)

  4. Love the way you share your ideas and your sketches! (Stopping by from SITS)

  5. I like the design in photo #3. That bird seems to pop off the page for me. Visiting you via Sharefest.

Trackbacks

  1. [...] while back I posted my sketches for the swap and based on the comments I ended up going with the Modern tree design. My partner (I can’t [...]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers