Weekend Whims- Thrifted Quilts

OK, you could probably say I’m a bit obsessed at this point… I want to go to every thrift shop and garage sale to see if they have any quilts for me!!!

Last weekend I found two great quilts at a yard sale down the street. They had a bunch, but I restrained myself and only bought two! I’ve mentioned before that my favorite quilts are a bit more modern, but my husband likes more traditional patterns. So I snatched up this red white and blue one! It’s in great shape with only a couple of little spots on it. Beautifully hand quilted and nice and bright!

I don’t know what it is about this yellow and white one, but I loved it. It’s not in good shape at all, but I loved the hand embroidery on it. It’s a light yellow fabric with white sqaures and orange embroidery. There are some pretty big holes in the back. the weirdest thing is that it looks like someone cut off the ends and added a random piece of fabric to the top and bottom. I love that each quilt has a story and seeing these alterations just makes me wonder more about its life! Debating about how to fix it, if at all….

The last one I found for 1.30! It’s bright and it’s polyester. I can only imagine it was made from someone’s old clothes. It’s handmade and even though it’s poly on top, the underside is a soft flannel.

Have you thrifted any quilts lately??? I can’t wait to find more!!!

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Those are beautiful! I wish I was crafty like that, but not at all. ;) Good thing we can buy them from others…

  2. I really gotta get out more. You find the best stuff! Love the first one. That second embroidered one is a FIND! I think it’s so neat that it was altered. There’s a story there…

  3. OMGosh – I would have snatched up that orange embroidered one, too. I always gravitate toward the well-loved ones. And love imagining the little hands snuggling up with it!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 677 other followers