Sew Ready to Play Memory!

Welcome to the 2012 Series of Sew Ready to Play! I’m kicking it off with Memory!

Most of the projects for the series are sewing projects ‘inspired by’ a game, not the actual game itself. But…. I’ve always wanted to make a fabric memory game from my son. The other day we were at Target and there was a Dr Seuss Memory card game in the little dollar section right when you walk in. I was torn! You know I LOVE Dr Seuss. It was only a dollar. Do I just buy it and forget my handmade version??? No! I held on to my dreams of making my own game!

I also love the fabric I ended up with. I went around to a couple of shops and didn’t find the perfect material. So I headed to JoAnn’s. My son and I found a great fish fabric that would be perfect. Ok, it would be perfect for a memory game, but the design just wasn’t me. I wasn’t in love with it. So we decided to make one last stop. A new little fabric shop and it had just what I wanted! PERFECT! I love this fabric! It’s called Forest Friends for Northcott. Love it! Did I mention that I love this fabric???

And I love my little game. It’s so simple to make, I can’t believe it took me this long to actually do it. Like I said, it’s simple, but takes a little time! So here we go!

Step 1: Materials. Fabric, the card side and the back side. Scissors, Thread, Rotary Knife, Seam Ripper (or whatever you use to pull corners flat).

Step 2: Cut the squares. Mine are 2.5 inches.

Step 3:  Sew two pieces together, right sides together. Leave a hole, about 3/4″, in one side.

Step 4: Clip the corners.

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Such a cute game, and I too love that fabric. It is awesome (and would work perfect for some ideas I have running around in my head). Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sheila Perl says:

    I love your Memory game and the great fabric you used, really creative!

  3. that’s really cool. this fabric is perfect for becoming a memory game.

    I linked to your tutorial on my blog – thanks for sharing!

    doro K.

  4. I’ve been wanting to make a memory game with some dr. seuss fabric I bought a while back. I did a test run and wasn’t very happy with the results (I used battinginside) . I can’t wait to try your tutorial! So excited! I just pinned it on pinterest too!

    • I didn’t use batting and was pretty happy with it. This fabric is a flannel and at first I thought I didn’t want flannel, but it ended up giving it a nice weight. All the Dr Seuss I found, the characters were a bit differnt sizes, so it would have been more complicated!

  5. What a clever and absolutely adorable use of that fabric. Great tutorial, too! found ya via Throwback Thursday @ Hubby Made Me. Thanks for posting!

    -Amberly!

  6. These are just so cute…what a great way to use the fabric…beautiful craft…thank you for sharing..xo

  7. wooow what a great idea of yours and sooo clever to use that kind of fabric. It’s sooo beautiful done, i think every child will love this not only me as a growing up one;-D

  8. preceptcamden says:

    Do you happen to have a pdf of the label on the box? I’m making a set of these for my niece for Christmas and want a cute box to put it in. If not, I may make a little drawstring bag. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] Step 9: Sew the play pieces together. Follow these directions! [...]

  2. [...] with ya! In the spirit of Sew Ready to Play month,  One lucky reader will get their very own handmade Memory game, made by yours [...]

  3. [...] This memory game was something I’d been wanting to make for years! So glad I finally did! [...]

  4. […] by’ their favorite games. Me. I seem to make the actual game! Last year I made a Memory game. This year a giant sized Pick Up Sticks! The second thing… We always seem to come up with the […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 678 other followers