A New Mini Quilt!

OK, so the story behind this one is one of those ‘No Way! Everything is just falling into place!’ kinda story!

SquareinaSquare-Main-I'mFeelin'Crafty

First a little background…. Way back when I first started sewing things to sell, I sold pillows, purses and my ghostie dolls. Then I added little baby blankets. Everything except the ghostie dolls were embellished with freehand machine stitching of my own designs. In hind sight the baby blankets were technically my first ‘quilting’ projects! I ‘drew’ bunnies and giraffes and funny little birds on them.

SquareinaSquare-Originals-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Note the horrible photography! No wonder they never sold on etsy! Wow! They were cute, but bad pictures!

OK, quick look away at the next picture!

SquareinaSquare-Square-I'mFeelin'Crafty

And back to my story…. I was recently contacted by a lady who bought a couple of the blankets for friends and is now due (any day now) to have her own baby and they wanted one of my blankets! How flattering is that??? I loved it! But I did ask her if she would mind if I did something a little different than just the two blocks of fabric and she was on board! Her only requests were the particular dotty fabric (which I had JUST enough left over from back in the day when I was using it on other baby blankets), a light blue and giraffes!

SquareinaSquare-GiraffeeDtl-I'mFeelin'Crafty

So I designed a few options and decided to go with this one, which happens to be a Square in a Square in a Square… Which also happens to be the first quilting challenge in this season of Project Quilting! I was debating doing Project Quilting this year. Last year I had a great time with my Row Row Row Your Boat quilt and the Where I’m From Quilt and all the others…. But this year I think I want to try my hand at playing along with Project Run and Play… But of course I was leaving my options open for both… Then when I read what the first Project Quilting challenge was, I literally almost jumped up and down!

SquareinaSquare-Blanket-I'mFeelin'Crafty

See everything keeps falling together PERFECTLY!

So I’m calling this one 1 Square, 2 Square, Dot Square, Blue Square!

SquareinaSquare-Back-I'mFeelin'Crafty

I actually love how the back turned out. Just fleece. But I love the simplicity of the blue fleece and the blue squares!

SquareinaSquare-OnStool-I'mFeelin'Crafty

So what about you? Working on any new projects yet this year? Participating in Project Quilting or Project Run and Play?? Let me know!

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. It is so fun and I love the giraffes (which happen to be one of my favourite critters)!

  2. So cool! I love the quilt and I agree with you about the back..it’s great. The dark photos aside (I only glanced at them – promise!), those blankets are way too adorable!! And, I’m super tempted to participate in Project Quilt…how fun!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] also changed the eyes a bit. It’s kinda my thing. On almost all of my earlier work (this project isn’t old, but it shows some old ones nad it’s the same designs as my [...]

  2. […] the last two are both commissioned 3×3 feet baby quilts. The first was a sweet one little giraffe one, where I picked up my doodling stitching again. And the second one was my first quilt using […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 627 other followers