A Christmas Curtain marked off the To Do List

ok, so this project isn’t very exciting, but it does have a kinda funny story. And it’s another thing to mark off my To Do List (which I was just reading and I can’t remember what a couple of the things are….)

ClosetCurtain-2-I'mFeelin'Crafty

For Christmas I made quite a few of my presents! And since back into blogging since the holidays, I haven’t had a chance to show them to you, so one and off over the next few weeks I’ll be sharing them with you! This project/gift was to my husband.

Curtains for our coat closet window. Why this closet even has a window is beyond me. Bad idea really…. But it’s there and it’s never had a curtain. We’ve put art in there, a stained glass window that didn’t really fit and I think there was even a piece of wood or something in there at one point. Yes, we do live in Seattle, and the sun doesn’t shine all that often, but when it does, I  don’t want it fading our coats. Also seeing them hanging in there isn’t beautiful to see from the backyard….

ClosetCurtain-before-I'mFeelin'Crafty

So this is what it looked like for the last little while. oh, and it’s not insulated, another bad design decision the designers had back in the day when the closet was added. for months I thought my husband had hung one of my son’s sheets in the window. Then when I took it down I realized it was actual yardage of the fabric that his sheets were made from! Not cheap fabric…. ergh!

ClosetCurtain-umbrella-I'mFeelin'Crafty

My husband has only been asking for a curtain for this window for years. Not kidding. Years. And I’ve had the fabric for years. Seriously. The curtain took me an hour or so to make, but years to actually do it. WHY??? I used the same process that I showed you in the Curtains are so Easy Tutorial. The funny thing is, I bought the fabric years ago when I saw it at the store and realized it matched our picnic table umbrella PERFECTLY! The stripes are a bit different, but the colors were exact. Notice I said WERE…. Here they are together now….

ClosetCurtain-after-I'mFeelin'Crafty

And the curtain installed! The picture isn’t great (at all, I couldn’t get a good angle without reflections of the bright pink slide in the backyard), but doesn’t it look nicer??

ClosetCurtain-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Needless to say, my husband was happy! If I hadn’t bought the fabric a few years back, I would have done the proportions of the fabrics a little bit different. Coulda Sholda Woulda. But it’s done and we’re all happy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers