A Vertical Starfish Garland DIY

Don’t be too sad, but I hate to say it…. This is my last Christmas present post! Yes, February is halfway over and I’m still chatting about Christmas!

StarfishGarland-Main-I'mFeelin'Crafty

This was a gift for my mom who loves everything beach inspired. And who reads the blog, so I couldn’t write about it before Christmas!

Scan_Pic0027

I saw this picture of the vertical starfish garland in Coastal Living in the December issue and pulled the ‘ole, ‘I can make that!’ I immediately tore the page out so I wouldn’t forget. And yes, I do subscribe to Coastal Living. On accident! It was also a present for my mom last year, but I accidentally got my mom and myself an issue. Instead of canceling, I’ve really enjoyed it! Now to decide if I resubscribe??? I already have some more DIY ideas for the beach house (or my mom…).

StarfishGarland-FrontDtl-I'mFeelin'Crafty

So off to work I went in my little Christmas workshop! I had the rope left over from our pirate party and some starfish still left over from our wedding. I had given most of them to my mom to decorate her house, so I did have to ask her to bring some back for me to make her present! HA!

StarfishGarland-ThreeDtl-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Originally I was planning on using just one piece of the rope, but then realized a little more simpler approach! I measured out the length I wanted between the stars and then hot glued the one long length of rope to the back of the starfish. Then I went back around each one and wrapped the rope around the top of it. So it looks like one continuous rope, but… It’s not!

StarfishGarland-BackDtl-I'mFeelin'Crafty

I wonder if she’ll hang it at her house or the beach house??? hmmmm….

StarfishGarland-End-I'mFeelin'Crafty

It would be fun for an Under the Sea party, too, Huh??? Just a little something different than the typical garland!

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers