A Doll Quilt!

And another swap!

DollQuiltSwap-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

I recently joined in on the Doll Quilt Swap and had a blast! Look what wonderful goodness came from the swap. I got my gift (the one on the right with the orange) the same day I was shipping mine (the pink and blue one on the left), so they got to say hello to each other! In planning it I came up with w few designs that even though they didn’t get made for the swap, they are going to be made into something soon! I’m really excited about them!!

DollQuiltSwap-To-ImFeelinCrafty

I knew my partner liked the red, pink, white and teal color scheme, so these are the designs I came up with! DUring this swap, I kept waiting for my partner to comment nad she didn’t comment much.

DollQuiltSwap-Sketches-ImFeelinCrafty

Then when I posted my sketches, she commented on one, ‘Are you talking to me ;)? I think I’d pick this one, but it’s really hard to choose! They are all great. Which one would you enjoy making the most?’ I freaked! This being a secret swap she wasn’t supposed to know who her partner was. Part of me knew she was just being funny, but there was a part of me that was freakin’ out! ‘HOW DOES SHE KNOW IT”S ME???’ I almost made a different quilt to post on flickr as my progress, just to throw her off!

DollQuiltSwap-Mine-ImFeelinCrafty

But I finally calmed down and knew she didn’t know I was her partner and went on with the design she liked!

DollQuiltSwap-Dtl-ImFeelinCrafty

The middle kinda gave me a curve ball. It didn’t end up as ’round’ as I wanted it to be. I ended up taking out two triangle pieces and redoing them to help the ‘circle’ out a bit!

DollQuiltSwap-Cushion-ImFeelinCrafty

Of course, every little swap gets a little somethin’ extra to go along with it. So I reused those two triangles that I took out of the quilt to make a pin cushion. I also found this cool old embroidery hoop that I thought I only had one piece too. Then I realized it was actually two pieces, so Ta Da! I had me an embroidery hoop to use to make my favorite new pin cushion style out of!  And a little charm pack of Quilt Blocks by Ellen Luckett Baker for Moda Fabrics.

DollQuiltSwap-From-ImFeelinCrafty

And…. When you swap, you always get something in return, right? Looky what I got!! My partner was Emily and she did a beautiful job on my little quilt! It’s really cool how it seems to pop! And see here’s the beauty of swaps. I remember when she posted it and asked which color to bind it in… I said orange! And look! She listened. I had no idea it was for me.

DollQuiltSwap-MyBack-ImFeelinCrafty

One requirement of the Doll Quilt Swap is that the quilt has to have a label. So I made one. Once I got it quilted, it’s a little hard to read, but I think it worked. Next time maybe I’ll embroider it…

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Sheila Perl says:

    Your little swap quilt is gorgeous! The one you swapped and the one you got! I just love your little pincushion–have you shown how to make that??

  2. How fun!! I love them both!!

  3. I love them both! Love the blue and pink color burst!

  4. Every time I see your quilts, I drool! These are so gorgeous, even if they are doll quilts! You should make a full size quilt of this design! Each time I see these wonderful posts, I dream of having you live next to me to help me learn how to sew. You are the Quilt Master!

  5. These are very cute. Love the colors and the designs.

  6. I love your little swap quilt! It turned out so cheery and fun! I would love walking into my sewing space and seeing it everyday! Great Idea for the pin cushion too!

  7. I really enjoyed this blog post and looooved seeing the creations by both you and your partner. How would we sign up for a swap like this? It looks like a lot of fun and a great way to share the joy of sewing.

    • All the swaps I do are flickr based. To join the swaps, typically you have to ask to join in. The ones I do are the Doll Quilt Swap, the Pretty Little Pouch Swap, Modernista Homemade, and the Modern She Made swap. There are a ton of them, but I kinda keep doing them over and over! I have found a loyalty to the ones I do!

      You can go to my flickr page and check out the groups I belong to. In case I’m forgetting one! But once you join the groups you just have to keep an eye out for the sign-ups.

      Let me know if you have any other questions! Maybe I’ll write a post on swaps, you aren’t the first one to ask!

  8. Eeek! I had a feeling this was mine :). I’m not sure how long it has been at my neighbor’s house, so I hope you weren’t freaking out that I wasn’t responding. I just got home from being gone for a week. Thank you so much for this beautiful little quilt and all the awesome extras. Love the front as well as the back! I’m sure glad I commented on your quilt. My secret partner commented on mine too and I was so excited. I came here first, but I’ll pop back on flickr and leave a comment there too.

  9. I’m glad you had so much fun in the swap–your quilt is so fun and vibrant!

  10. Louise! I am so glad you liked the little quilt i made and I love the one you made as well, how nice for them to have met in passing :) nice post!

  11. I’d love to see a tutorial on how you made this quilt. Very striking design and lovely cheerful colors and fabrics.

  12. Love that! How the heck did you make it?! Such vibrant colors. LOVE!!!

    • Thanks! HA! I don’t know exactly! I drew it and then I cut the pieces to match my drawing! Then put each each triangle together, then three of them together each and then sewed the two halves together! There was a little rigging to get it right! :)

Trackbacks

  1. […] For my second entry in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, I decided to enter my Kaleidoscope mini/doll quilt. […]

  2. […] Kaleidoscope mini/doll quilt that I made for a swap partner. This mini was about 18×18 […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 627 other followers