Modernista Homemade Swap #3

Yep, I did it again… I signed up for three swaps this spring. Why?? I don’t know. I can’t seem to say NO. Luckily there is only one due a month…

ModernistaSwap-MyProject-I'mFeelin'Crafty

The Modernista Homemade Swap was last month. I almost missed the deadline too…. I even wrote to the Swap Mama this long email about how I couldn’t get it done on time, blah blah blah… I never heard back from here and then saw that the deadline had been changed from Saturday the 30th to today, the 1st!!! Yea!!! So luckily I’m going not to be kicked out of the swap next round…..

ModernistaSwap-PillowOutisde-I'mFeelin'Crafty

My partner originally had one color scheme, but then moved and changed her color scheme. With the swaps you are supposed to ‘stalk’ your partner, since you can’t talk directly to them. So I checked out her new pinterest page and it was full of pictures of grey, white and teal. And there were also images of art that said things like, ‘Love builds a happy home’ and ‘Love is spoken Here.’

ModernistaSwap-Sketch-I'mFeelin'Crafty

As soon as I saw the colors and the art picks, I knew exactly what I wanted to do….

ModernistaSwap-Pillow-I'mFeelin'Crafty

I had been wanting to make this heart since I had seen it around the web time and time again. Now I had the perfect opportunity!

I used the same technique that I used to make my Where I Live postage stamp quilt. I love watching it shrink! Except for those quick moments of fear when you turn it over and the corners don’t line up because you haven’t finished sewing a section. It happens a couple of times. Then I remember that’s the 1/4inch allowance that I haven’t sewn yet… Oh, yeah, and then I’m back on!

ModernistaSwap-HomeIs-I'mFeelin'Crafty

I tried my hand at a little embroidery work. Inspired by the art prints I had seen. It’s not the best, but I think it turned out cute. I was going to make more of one of the saying, but then got nervous that my partner might not like my lack of embroidery skills, so I left it sweet and short!

ModernistaSwap-MyProject2-I'mFeelin'Crafty

For the small second item, I made a pinking shears pouch. It’s a quilted pouch with bound edges.

ModernistaSwap-Pouch-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Even though the pouch is probably not going to be used in the same room as the pillow, I still made them match. And I used all my teal scraps…. STay tuned for a tutorial on how I did the pouch.

ModernistaSwap-PillowBack-I'mFeelin'Crafty

And I decided to add a little something to the back. As I was cutting the pieces for the front, I had a few extra, so I threw it on the back. And it turns out the back actually holds it own as a design, I think!

ModernistaSwap-PillowBackDtl-I'mFeelin'Crafty

I love how the stitching on the sides makes it look really clean and fresh.

And I received my package! The colors are perfect for our living room. Love the orange, brown and yellows. My swap gift was a lap quilt and some quilted coasters from a.quilter.2. Too cute!

ModernistaSwap-package-AQuilter2

ModernistaSwap-lapQuilt-AQuilter2

And now I’m on to my next swap and think I’ve already figured it out! This is going to be a month of quilting for sure. Hopefully I can get a little something else in….

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Ashley Addison says:

    Very nice. I absolutely love the heart. Don’t think my sewing skills are quite up to par yet to pull that one off. Would you be willing to share where you swap? I would love to participate in something. Thanks for sharing your pillow, its gorgeous and also the package you received is lovely.

    • It’s easier than you think! I bet you could do it! I need to do a blog post about the swapping thing, for sure!

      All the swaps I do are flickr based. To join the swaps, typically you have to ask to join in. The ones I do are the Doll Quilt Swap, the Pretty Little Pouch Swap, Modernista Homemade, and the Modern She Made swap. There are a ton of them, but I kinda keep doing them over and over! I have found a loyalty to the ones I do!

      You can go to my flickr page and check out the groups I belong to. In case I’m forgetting one! But once you join the groups you just have to keep an eye out for the sign-ups.

      Let me know if you have any other questions!

  2. Charity G. says:

    Love the pillow – colors, design, embroidery. Beautiful job!

  3. Those are so cute! Your secret pal will love them!

  4. WOW! This is beautiful. Those are my favorite colors and they look so vibrant. I so wish I knew how to sew so I could participate in something like this and receive your pillow in the mail. Seriously, it’s amazing.

  5. I just heart the pillow. :) It’s a real beauty!

  6. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Looks crafty, indeed! I love the pillow and the shears pouch :)

  7. kimmer722 says:

    LOVE the pillow you made for the swap! It’s super cute!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] Modernista Homemade Swap [...]

  2. [...] you know I recently made this pouch as a pouch for pinking shears for my latest [...]

  3. […] Each round has been for a different room in the house, the dining room, kitchen, sewing room, living room. My partner wanted pillowcases for her main item and a fabric storage box or bowl was her idea for […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 631 other followers