KCW- Day 1- Fire Shorts!

Yep, it’s that time of year again! Another round of Kids Clothes Week! Fair warning though… This round I’m not making one thing a day and blogging about it each day! I will work every day, but I don’t think I’ll be finishing a different project each day! Ok, with that said, here’s Day 1-

KCW-FireShorts-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

 

The Fire Shorts!

KCW-FireShorts-Front-ImFeelinCrafty

 

To start, this fabric is not something I’d pick out myself! My son has been asking about this fabric at the quilt shops for months. Then finally I broke down. I figured if he’s been asking for the  same thing for this long, maybe he really wants it… I asked him what he wanted to do with the fabric and he immediately said, shorts!

KCW-FireShorts-Sitting-ImFeelinCrafty

 

Then he asked every day, why I hadn’t made his shorts yet. One day I told him I had to do something, I forget what it was, but he responded, ‘You did that, but you didn’t have to do it. You could have made them!’

KCW-FireShorts-Pockets-ImFeelinCrafty

Either way, they were made and he loves them. He’s actually worn them two days in a row.

KCW-FireShorts-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

The shorts are patterned the same way I did the comfy pants. Instead of an elastic pocket, I used wide black elastic and left it exposed as the waistband. I knew I had to add something to break up the flames, so that’s where the black pockets and black hem came into the design! The kiddo actually requested no ‘cuff’, so I made a large ‘hem’ instead.

KCW-FireShorts-Happy-ImFeelinCrafty

I asked him if they were worth the wait and he totally agreed that it was! I love having a happy kid wearing the clothes that I make for him!

Comments

  1. look how happy he is in his fire shorts!! I guess it pays to let them choose their own fabric eh? 🙂

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.