do Good Stitches Swap

As you know, I’m a quilter in the Nurture Circle of do Good Stitches quilting bee. We make quilts all year and then take off the months on November and December. So this year, I thought a fun way to thank ourselves for all of our hard work and get to know each other a little bit better was to have a little swap!

DoGoodSwap-Both-ImFeelinCrafty

So we did! We could tell our partner if we wanted a holiday themed gift or not!

DoGoodSwap-ToGive-ImFeelinCrafty

My partner said she’d like something other than holiday and a mug rug seemed to be of interest to her. So…. That’s what I did!

DoGoodSwap-ToGive-Detail-ImFeelinCrafty

And I tried out the quilt as you go technique from Stitched in Time’s blog (fitting since she runs the do Good Stitches bee!, huh?). Loved it! It’s a great technique for small quilts or mug rugs! And I guess it is for big quilts too, but I haven’t tried that yet. Oh! But I just had an idea of when I’m going to try it on a big quilt!!! OK, I got off track there! So you start with the your block size batting. I quilted down my middle piece by stitching around the buildings and then you sew on a piece, fold over iron and then quilt it. Then repeat with one piece after another! Love it! Did I say that already?

DoGoodSwap-ToGive-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

And I had another success with machine binding! Yeah! It can be hit or miss with this and I was pretty happy with it this time!

DoGoodSwap-Recieved-ImFeelinCrafty

I didn’t have a preference for holiday or not, but I did mention that my holiday colors were more of the bright green, pink and blue. and I received this adorable wall hanging from my partner, Debbie of Tweety-Bee Stitches.

DoGoodSwap-Recieved-Detail-ImFeelinCrafty

The shutters actually open and close! It’s too cute! We have it hanging with the other Christmas art!

Comments

  1. Really fun swap! QAYG is a great technique!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 632 other followers