Fabric Wrapping

After last Christmas, my friend Kerry gave me the idea of wrapping presents in fabric gift bags instead of paper. I thought this was a great idea. So we got a bunch of Christmas fabric on super sale so that we can make these bags. The idea was that the bags are easy drawstring bags. Then all of a sudden I needed a gift wrapped and I didn’t have time to make a bag and I don’t know how to make a bow, so I remembered that I had seen something about a Japanese way of wrapping with fabric. Googled it and found that it’s called furoshiki wrapping. I love it! Now, don’t get me wrong, I am still going to make the bags. I have been thinking about it all year long, but I am in love with this wrapping technique. All I did was put a narrow hem in the fabric and tie it in a knot. Ok, I did have to watch a youtube video to figure out how to not have it look like crap, but after that tada! It really didn’t take much longer than wrapping with paper!

Comments

  1. Well! I am very impressed!
    Looks really good!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

