Sally Sells Seashells

Another Christmas present I made that I couldn’t post until after Christmas… (I have a few of those…)

My Mom is a huge shell and coral fan. She loves anything beach and shell related. So years ago I saw this picture in a 2008 Real Simple magazine. These shells, by Ruzzetti and Gow, are beautiful, coated in sterling silver and range in price from about $100.00 to over $1,000.00. Needless to say, that’s out of my price range for a knic knack….

So I thought to myself, ‘I can make that.’ (I remember cringing as a child when my mom said those words. Now I say them All the time!)

Two years later, armed with a can of spray paint and two shells that I got on our yearly pilgrimage to Orange Beach, AL, I headed out to make my own silver seashells. They aren’t quite as shiny as sterling silver, but they are darn cool.

I also filled them Plaster of Paris so that they can now be used as bookends…

My wedding was at the beach and we had tons of shells. Still have tons of shells. Still have spray paint…. Have an idea of where I’m going with this…. Maybe a silver sand dollar, anyone??


  1. these are so beautiful!
    Thank you, my oh so precious and creative one!

  2. I absolutely LOVE these!!!!!

  3. This is such a cute idea- I love it!!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

