Cuddly Baby Blanket

I got the book, Amy Butler’s Little Stitches for Little Ones, for Christmas. I wanted it, but when I started looking at it, I was wondering when I’d ever make the things since my son is growing up like a weed…

And then… One of my best friend’s from college and his wife had their baby! A preemie. I pulled out the book and saw the Snuggle Wrap Blanket project for a hooded blanket/swaddle wrap. This seemed like a great project for a newborn… So I threw one together. It’s basically a hooded blankie with a strap that ties once you fold it over like a swaddle blanket….

Sometimes reading patterns is hard for me. I’m much more visible, I need more pictures than words. I can get bogged down on reading the directions and trying to visualize the process instead of just moving ahead and putting the pieces together. Which is what I did here. I guess I just hate redoing things, so I want to get it right the first time! But once I figured it out, it was one of those light bulb moments, and I was off and running. Super easy project. 

And I learned a new technique to make a simple quilt or baby blanket. Always cool!

I also made a ghostie to match!

I can’t wait to see the little guy in it! What’s your favorite newborn gift?


  1. This is perfect! Emily and O’Brien will love it,
    and I am sure that the baby will also!!!!!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

