For Japan With Love

Are you following the devastation in Japan??? The images are heart breaking…

Since I started blogging there have been a few disasters and I’ve found that there are awesome people all around us who want to help however they can. Thanks to the ladies at Ever-Ours and Utterly Engaged I have found a way that I can help and spread the word. On Friday I’ll be taking part in the Bloggers Day of Silence:

Not only is it a day of silence for the victims, it is also a fundraiser with all proceeds going towards Shelterbox.

ShelterBox provides emergency shelter and lifesaving supplies for families around the world who are affected by disasters at the time when they need it the most. Each large green ShelterBox is tailored to a disaster but typically contains a disaster relief tent for an extended family, blankets, water storage and purification equipment, cooking utensils, a stove, a basic tool kit, a children’s activity pack and other vital items. 

I have to admit, I’ve been trying to avoid as many images as possible. I listen on the radio, but it’s really hard for me to look. I figured out why… I’m terrified of earthquakes. I’m terrified of an earthquake happening and I can’t get to my family. I grew up on the Gulf Coast and we had hurricanes. Scary, but you have plenty of warning that it’s coming. Even time to name the storm, pack and retreat to safer areas. Earthquakes. No warning. Now I live in an earthquake zone… And they say that the next one is going to be a big one. I can only imagine the fear and the unknown that these people are going through right now.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

