From Here to There, From There to Map Quilt Link Love with a Give Away!!

I don’t know if it’s my architectural background or my love of traveling, but I’ve always loved maps! Topographic Maps, City Maps, Celestial Maps, Antique maps, basically any map. I love them. And you know I love quilts. So it only makes sense that I’d also love quilt maps!

I had the idea, ‘Ill make a quilt with a map image!’ then a few weeks later I got my next issue of Quilting Arts Magazine with a feature on map quilts. Ok, so I wasn’t the first one to have this idea! The feature story was written by and showcased the quilts of Valerie Goodwin. Amazingly beautiful work!

I’ve also fallen in love with a few other ‘map’ quilters…

The quilts made by Haptic Lab are very literally, quilted maps. love…..  (hmmmm…. The company was started by an architect)

Valerie Goodwin’s map quilts take on a more abstract imagery of places and the mapping of space. Keep reading for more about Valerie below…. And a Give Away!


These two are by different artists. (Can you tell??)

The black and white piece from Emma McNally isn’t a quilt at all, but wouldn’t it make a beautiful one???? From what I’ve read about Emma (and how I found her work) is that’s she’s inspired by cartography and maps. Her work does leave my mind wondering about the maps and imaginary places her art might be representing! 

The quilt on the right is by Leah Evans and is exactly what I had in mind when I first envisioned my map quilt. Her pieces have a sense of place, a sense of topography and yet all imagined places. Stay tuned for an artist interview with Leah next week.

And last, but, as always, not least…. I’m in awe with the amazing details of Jimmy McBride’s space quilts. I don’t know if these are technically ‘maps’ per se, but the star quilts are a map of the night sky. His blog is amazing to read and to see the technique he uses for his quilting process. All the detail and pieces!! The moon quilt is a rendering of  Saturn’s third largest moon, Iapetus.

I recently got an email of pictures of earth taken from space. The pictures are taken at night and you see all the lights glittering on earth. Between that and Jimmy’s star quilt inspiration, I’m envisioning another quilt to add to my do to list!

And now….. Insert drumroll here…..

Feelin’ Crafty’s first ever…..


This is your chance to own a beautiful mini Art Quilt by the multi-talented quilt artist (and architect….) Valerie Goodwin! As I was looking around online at all her beautiful pieces, I saw these mini quilts and she graciously agreed to give one to one of my readers! I was giddy with excitement when she said Yes!

After she agreed, I realized that if it’s a giveaway, it’s a giveaway and I can’t keep it for myself! So, I had to buy one for me, too! (more to come on that….) You won’t believe the detail in these quilts. When I was reading about her techniques, in the pictures I couldn’t visualize all the details as described in the article, but in person… Another story! Beautiful! (not that the article isn’t beautiful as well.) I keep looking at them and each time I see a new detail that I didn’t see before.


Ready to WIN? You have FIVE ways to enter! And come back and leave a separate comment on this post for each entry!

1) Head to Valerie’s Website  and tell us which quilt is your FAVORITE !

2) Become a fan of Valerie on Facebook.

3) Become a fan of Feelin’ Crafty on Facebook.

4) Subscribe to Feelin’ Crafty.  

5) Share the Giveaway on your blog.

Winner will be chosen on Wednesday, April 13, 2011. 

Winner will be chosen using


Comments closed as of 9.45PM PST. Thank you!


  1. Gretchen Jolles says:

    My favorite quilt of Valerie’s is “Hidden Goddess”

  2. My favorite: City Grid III

  3. I’m already a fan of Valerie’s on Facebook; that’s how I found out about this sweet little contest!

  4. I just became a fan of Feelin’ Crafty on Facebook.

  5. I don’t yet have a blog, and couldn’t post it again on facebook; they said it was too spammy….. Is it???

  6. Nancy riffle says:

    Been following Valerie’s awesome work for while now. Thanks for blogging about it.

  7. I found I’m feeling crafty through Valerie’s Facebook which I already had liked.

  8. And now I have liked “I’m Feelin’ Crafty!” on FB, too.🙂

  9. I really like Valerie Goodwin’s work so it was hard to narrow it down to name a favorite, but one of them is Labyrinth of the Hidden Goddess.

  10. candy grisham says:

    I have loved Valerie’s work for some time. My favorite (today) is Labyrinth of the Hidden Goddess. I am trying to do everything I can to get to one of her classes this summer.
    All the rest is done.
    Thanks Candy

  11. It is hard to choose as each piece is beautiful and evocative in its own way. The academic in me is saying, let’s go with Economic Landscapes as your favorite for today.

    Thanks for introducing me to Valerie’s work! I wish I could see the pieces in person.

  12. Such beautiful, expressive work! I love Villa Rotunda…amazing!

  13. I’m a big fan of Valerie’s already but I’m happy to discover your blog. I’m also an architect and art quilter, in Washington. Didn’t know there were so many of us. 😉 I think Labyrinth of the Hidden Goddess is my favorite of Valerie’s quilts – today. I like that it abstracts the map/plan more than the others.

  14. Okay! Subscribed to your Blog.

  15. …and liked you on Facebook. I was already Valerie’s fan, so that probably doesn’t count. Thanks for the chance to win a wonderful piece!

  16. Nancy Sinise says:

    Oh, I like them all so it’s hard to pick one – but I’ll go with City Grid II. a group I’m with has done a ‘Rambling River challenge’ where the river went through each of our small quilts. It matched on each side and went through forests, the Grand Canyon and over waterfalls. My portion was a ‘map’ view. Maps are so fun!

  17. I am already a fan of Valerie. I have liked your FB page. I like City Grid V. I will mention this on my blog!!

  18. Marcia W. says:

    Though it is difficult to choose, I keep coming back to City Grid III. Thanks for the wonderful introduction to this new-to-me quilting technique.

  19. Okay, my last shot at it for tonight – consider yourself linked!

  20. My favorite is ‘Lifeline.’

  21. She does some amazing work!! I love City Grid V!

  22. New subscriber to your blog!

  23. Heathery says:

    I love Organic Grid IV!

  24. I’ve subscribed to Feelin Crafty!

  25. Julie Cook says:

    These are all so beautiful! I love HiddenGoddess and the City Grid series the best, if I *have* to choose!!

  26. And I’ve become a fan of Valerie on facebook!

  27. AND a fan of Feelin’ Crafty on Facebook!

  28. And I think my favorite quilt of hers is City Grid V. LOVE the colors and texture! Such beautiful work!

  29. archiTEXTural CARTography I

    It would be great to win, she could bring it to me in Switzerland, then she comes to visit my country and give lectures. Best greetings from my country

  30. I can’t decide which I like better: Hidden Goddess or City Grid IV – I guess it would depend which room I would put it in! I too have an architectural background so Valerie’s gorgeous art quilts really speak to me. Stunning details in each and every one.

  31. I like Villa Rotunda!

  32. How cool! My favorite one is the giveaway quilt. You might have unleashed a beast in me because I have always loved maps, and I never thought of combining that with quilting… thanks for doing this!!Oh, and I like you on FB.

  33. City Grid V – love it. Thanks for sharing her work with us.

  34. As a geologist, it’s almost mandatory that I like maps – the layers of information, the revealed structure, the resulting graphic design. Of Valerie’s quilts, I like Riverside Settlement best.

  35. My favourite is City Grid 5 – just stunning – but it was hard to choose!!

  36. Robin Gordon says:

    My favourite is Architectural Cartography I the black and white is just stunning!

  37. Oh my, love Valerie’s quilts, not seen them before, my favorite is African Burial Ground II, haunting in it’s detail. Really like Lay of the Land II as well.

  38. I’m a new fan and now “liked” Valerie’s page on Facebook

  39. I just subscribed to Feeling Crafty.

  40. I’ve liked you too on facebook, thanks for holding such a great giveaway, I’ve got everything crossed to win.

  41. Hidden Goddess is definitely my favorite on Valerie’s site. I have a thing for circular city plans!

  42. I just liked Valerie’s facebook page. I’m also an architect and I would love to make a map quilt one day!

  43. I just became a fan of your facebook page. Thanks for all the great inspiration!

  44. i like ….City Grid III

  45. liked feeling crafty on facebook

  46. If you really must have me choose one of the many great works, I must say that I love the seaside one. Mostly because as an Urban Planning Grad student it calls to me. In fact we were just discussing Seaside in class the other day, and a few of us students were planning a trip over to it.

    I also did numbers 2 & 3.

  47. Lisa Garrett says:

    My favorite is Crossroads.

  48. Lisa Garrett says:

    I became a fan of Valerie on FB

  49. Lisa Garrett says:

    I became a fan of Feelin’ Crafty on FB: Lisa Holmes Garrett.

  50. Lisa Garrett says:

    I subscribed to Feelin’ Crafty by email.

  51. Love City Grid V. And I subscribed to FEELIN CRAFTY. Love un-normal things! Thanks

  52. Susan Spiers says:

    Labrynth of the Hidden Goddess is my favorite! I live near New Orleans & this reminds me that it is a city in a bowl & Katrina almost destroyed that city!

  53. Susan Spiers says:

    I am now a Fan of Valerie on Facebook!

  54. Susan Spiers says:

    I am now a Fan of Feelin Crafty on Facebook!

  55. Susan Spiers says:

    I am now a subscriber of Feelin Crafty!

  56. Rachel S. says:

    It is a toss up between Hidden Goddess and City Grid III. They are so incredible, it woould be an honor to win a piece of her work.

  57. Rachel S. says:

    Liked Feeling Crafty on facebook.

  58. I subscribed to feelincrafty

  59. I like lakeellaiv

  60. It was a hard choice but I think I like City Grid II the best. I’ve seen some of these works in a magazine, impressive.

  61. I’ve subbed to your blog via RSS. You’ve got some interesting stuff on here.

  62. Ingrid S says:

    What a fabulous giveaway! The designs, the colours chosen, it is a joy to look at each quilt closely and “find your way” around it. I like “Seaside, Florida” best of all, closely followed by “African Burial Ground II”.

  63. Ingrid S says:

    What a priviledge to have several chances! I have subscribed to new posts via email. Thank you very much!

  64. I subscribed to feelin’ crafty

  65. like Valeries on facebook

  66. feelin’crafty on facebook I like

  67. The quilt that I like the best is City Grid V looks like a fun quilt to own and hang on a wall.

  68. wordygirl says:

    I like the City Grid quilts. I think the City Grid III is my favorite. Thanks for the incredible giveaway.

    wordygirl at earthlink dot net

  69. I like them all but since I want to live in a college town, I’m going with College campus.

  70. just realised each should be seperate, so here is my comment for liking this blog on facebook.

  71. And here is the post for liking the artist on facebook.

  72. And one more now for subscribing, since it only took a click. lol

  73. I love City Grid IV! So cool!

  74. Following you on Facebook!

  75. I subscribed to your blog too!🙂

  76. Wanted to say thanks everyone for your kind words. Also many, many thanks to Louise for organizing this giveaway! Louise you are wonderful!

    Best to all,


  77. Paula Wirfel says:

    I liked Valerie’s Villa Rotunda quilt.


  1. […] Valerie Goodwin – an architect – over at I’m Feeling Crafty!. Get contest details HERE. You may also […]

  2. […] you haven’t signed up for the Valerie Goodwin giveaway do so soon! I’ll pick the winner Wednesday […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

