Wooden Block Puzzle, a Tutorial

Thanks everyone for your interest in the Block Puzzle with images by Katie from oohmoon!

I was going to do the tutorial on Monday, but didn’t want to take away from the Giveaway news.  And there were some questions, but I didn’t want to reply to too many and mess up the odds in the Giveaway random number picker! So, hopefully this answers everyone’s questions!


Mod Podge


Wooden Blocks


Exacto Knife

8×10 Printed Images

Step 1: Sand the blocks. I recommend sanding the rough sides of the blocks. Something to think about… On the first set of blocks I made, I rounded all the edges, not thinking about how it would affect the 2” pieces of each image. It made it slightly harder to get the images on just right. The second set I made, I just sanded the rough sides, not the corners and it made for much cleaner edges.

I ordered my blocks from Craft Parts. I priced around and based on the number I was ordering, this place had the best price.

Step 2: Paint! On my blocks, I painted 2 sides and have images on 4 sides. Since these were for such youngsters, I decided that at least two sides would just be a solid color puzzle!  You can skip this step if you are putting images on all 6 sides.

Step 3: Cut your images into 2” squares.

Step 4: Glue the image to the block using the Mod Podge. Tip… I laid mine out so that each block was oriented the same way, i.e. the green side was always at the bottom of the image. I just felt that it made it a bit cleaner looking. Will anyone else ever notice? I doubt it…

Step 5: I added a top coat of Mod Podge to protect the image from drips, etc. I also added the top coat to the painted sides for a more complete look.

And there ya go….  Just keep repeating for each side and eventually you’ll have yourself your own block puzzle.

Shared on



  1. What a fun project! Abby would love doing this with me.

  2. thanks so much for sharing. you know the thing is, with that german puzzle we both had, I remember when we first were figuring it out it helped the have the images the way they were cause you could just flip the blocks the same way and get a picture (or you couldn’t, I think the one with the wolf didn’t work right that way) so putting the green all in the same place is a really good idea. what size blocks did you use? I’m sorry I’m math challenged so can’t figure it out…

    • lwackerman says:

      Yes, I know, having the images totally helps put the puzzle together! I made these on vacation and forgot to print extra to give with the set. So my plan in to make storage bags for them with the images on the bags. Not sure if that makes sense or not, but I’ll show you once I get home to make them! And the blocks are 2″. Sorry, I meant to add that detail. I’ll go back and add that in!

  3. hahaha sometimes I am such a ditz, I guess if the pictures are 2 inches then the blocks would be too, huh?

  4. babymoon says:

    Beautiful tutorial Louise! Thanks for doing the hard work of getting it up there! Can’t wait to make some too!!

  5. what an adorable idea! and full of so many possibilities… for so many ages! i can’t wait to make some!

    visiting from the southern institute🙂

  6. Reblogged this on 3drømmer and commented:
    Genialt, skal testes

  7. AvidSurfer says:

    This is a great idea! Were you using normal paper or cardstock for this project?


  1. […] with Momma. And yep, she’s checking our her coolest present ever (If I do say so myself), a wood block puzzle made by me with the owl series from […]

  2. […] used her art on a few projects including my advent calendar, gift tags and sweatshirt and wooden block puzzles. This week is celebrating Thanksgiving. So go check it out every day this week for your own […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

