A, um, Glowing, well um, A Camping Project

We go camping a lot these days. We have a little private campsite that we go to and after 4 years or so, we’ve finally tamed the wildlife (aka woods and weeds) and are getting the place spruced up a bit.

And each weekend when we go, I try to take a little crafty project to do with the kiddo. This weekend we took jars, glow in the dark paint, and wire….

One thing I’d love to do is hang Christmas lights throughout the trees, but alas our campsite doesn’t have electricity. (hence the camping thing…) And I’ve always loved painted jars, like these shown at Kootut Murut.

So what did I think of??? Painted Jars with Glow in the Dark Paint.

The idea was to make glow in the dark jars to hang in the trees, like Christmas lights as my son said. Well, the making of the jars went of just fine…. Here’s how we made them….

1. Materials

Jars

Glow in the Dark paint (I do not recommend the brand pictured. More about that in a minute)

Paintbrushes

Wire and Wire Cutters

2. For some of the jars we did splatter painting instead of full on painted jars. For these we put just a little paint on the brush and then acted like we were washing our hands with the rubba rubba song we sing.

3. For the painted jars, we just poured in a bunch of paint, secured the top on the jar and shooookkkkk the jar until all the sides were covered.

4. Next we poured the excess paint back into the bottle.

5. We set them out to dry.

6. We added the wire around the top and hung them in the trees. And Wahla!

So did you notice the hesitation in the title???  Well, as much fun as we had making them, we had a few issues that didn’t really work so well. The first issue is kinda minor… They were a bit heavy for all the tree branches in my reach..

The second and main issue with the ‘glow in the dark’ jars… They don’t glow in the dark….

I thought, well, maybe it was because we started the project too late in the day and they didn’t get enough sunlight before darkness fell…. Um, no.. We brought some home and left them outside all day and went to check on them once it got dark and no glow….

I guess I should call them ‘reflect the moon and campfire light’ jars, not ‘glow in the dark’ jars. They did reflect some of the light around us, which actually would trick me into thinking they were glowing, but they weren’t. And white paint would have done the same thing if you were going for that effect. I think next time, I’ll try a different type of paint.

I’m kinda obsessed now and want to figure out which is the best paint for the job. Have you used glow in the dark paint? Which kind worked for you??

 

