Sew Ready to Play with No Big Dill

Welcome to the first day of the Sew Ready to Play series!!! Let’s send out a warm welcome to Katy from No Big Dill!
Katy’s work is just beautiful! I first found her when she was hosting her own series, Once Upon a Thread. The series consisted of a huge group of extremely talented bloggers making projects inspired by children’s books. I loved all the projects I saw. then was day I was sitting around thinking about her series and I had one of those light bulb moments. Play. Sew. Games. Sew Ready to Play. So I emailed Katy right away and asked two questions… Would she mind if I did a series inspired by her series? would she play along? And then she said yes! and yes! I can’t tell you how honored I am to have her here at I’m Feelin’ Crafty. And I think you are going to agree with me about how perfect her project is!
Welcome Katy!
Hello, I’m Feelin’ Crafty Readers! When Louise pitched this idea to me I knew exactly what I wanted to make. I’m the daughter of an ex-arcade game distributor, so I spent a lot of time in our garage playing the arcade games that would rotate through and Ms. Pacman was always one of my favorites. I like to keep clothes I make classy, but with a splash of fun so my girls still enjoy wearing them. Here’s a little how-to on what I did for the hand embroidery that can be easily translated to other designs.

You will need:
embroidery hoop
embroidery floss
tear-away stabilizer
washable fabric pencil/marker

Begin by placing the stabilizer on the wrong side of the fabric and put the embroidery hoop on. With the fabric pencil/marker, draw your design.

I used all the strands of thread with the embroidery floss because I wanted the embroidery to really stand out. Do a running stitch around the perimeter, outlining each design.

Next you do a simple satin stitch by going from one side of the design to the other, keeping your stitches very close so you can’t see the fabric through each one. Repeat with other design.

I added buttons for the remaining “story” of my embroidery (eyes, bow, dots).
Other details I added to draw from the Ms. Pacman theme:
Really, the details are my favorite part of sewing, especially when I’m working with a theme.

Thanks, Louise, for having me over!!


  1. Tracy King says:

    This dress is so adorable and what a super idea for a sewing series! Thanks to everyone who took the time to create something for the rest of us to drool over.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

