Sew Ready to Play with She Wears Flowers

Today we’re welcoming Tammy from She Wears Flowers! I forget exactly how I found her blog, but the first time I was there, I signed up to be a subscriber. She has tons of fantastic projects, both sewing and crafting projects. I’m so in love with her felt cakes. I’ve got to get on that felt food making, I’ve been planning! But I’m not sure if I can pull off her fantastic cakes.

Thanks for playing along, Tammy! Welcome to Sew Ready to Play!!Yahtzee 20

I am so excited to be a part of the Sew Ready to Play series at I’m Feelin’ Crafty!
I am Tammy from she wears flowers
tammy 9
I have a creative streak that is pretty simple so you can find lots of fun and easy projects on my blog. I’ve been sewing since I was a little girl and that was a long, long time ago, so this series is perfect for me.
One of our favorite family games is Yahtzee. Kind of geeky, isn’t it? We love it and even my little one loves it although for her it is all about rolling the dice!

Yahtzee 27Wikipedia explains the game: Yahtzee is a dice game where the object of the game is to score the most points by rolling five dice to make certain combinations.

One thing I like about Yahtzee is the contrast between the rigid structure of only certain combinations working to earn the maximum points and the randomness of just rolling the dice. I like to think that this skirt has a little of the same contrast – the black and white “formal” look with the pop of color and the tiered, casual look without being very full.

So dig through your fabric stash and let’s get sewing!

Yahtzee 26

3 different black and white fabrics (yardage varies with size)
hot pink jumbo ric rac
1/2 inch elastic

Yahtzee 1
Get the waist measurement and determine how long you want the skirt to be from the top of the waistband to the finished length. You can divide the length into 3 for each tier or you can make the top tier the narrowest and the others progressively larger if you would like.

TOP TIER: The length of the first tier should be 1.5 times the waist measurement and the width is the desired width plus 2 inches for the waistband casing and one seam allowance.
MIDDLE TIER: The length of the middle tier should be 1.625 times the waist measurement and the width is the desired width plus 1.25 inches for seam allowances.
LOWER TIER: The length of the lower tier should be 2 times the waist measurement and the width is the desired width of the tier plus 1 inch.
Because my daughter is little, I cut each tier from the the selvedge end to the selvedge end of the fabric and had enough for each tier in one strip. For larger sizes you can cut two strips (selvedge end to selvedge end) the correct width and then cut them each down to 1/2 of the length plus 1/4 inch. With right sides together, sew short sides to make one long strip the needed length. This is a pretty flexible project so don’t stress too much about precise measurements.
Here’s an example:
Waist measurement is 22 inches and finished skirt length is 13 inches.
Top tier: 33 inches long and 5 inches wide.
Middle tier: 35.75 inches long and 5.5 inches wide.
Lower tier: 44 inches long and 6 inches wide. (My fabric was 43 inches and I just went with it, but I could have cut 2 strips that were each 22 1/4 inches long and 6 inches wide and then sewn them together with a 1/4 inch seam to make a 44 x 6 inch strip.)
STEP 2Yahtzee 4
Sew each strip with right sides together along the short edges with a 1/4 inch seam allowance. I like to iron in my waistband casing and hem before this step so that I can do it while the fabric is flat. This isn’t necessary, but it is nice.
Yahtzee 5Yahtzee 10
Make the hem in the lower tier by turning fabric up 1/4 inch and pressing in place then turning another 1/4 inch, ironing and then sewing in place. Press again.
Yahtzee 7Yahtzee 8
Make the waistband casing on the top tier by folding under 1/4 inch and pressing then turning under another 5/8 of an inch, pressing, then sewing in place. Be sure to leave an opening at the center back to insert the elastic. Do not insert elastic at this point.

Yahtzee 11
Gather the top of the middle tier by sewing 2 rows of stitching using the longest thread length. One row will be sewn at 5/8 of an inch and the next at about 1/4 of an inch seam allowance. Gather the fabric very slightly.
Yahtzee 13
With right sides together, pin the middle tier to the top tier, adjusting the gathering stiches as you go so the tiers are the same size. Sew in place with a 5/8 inch seam allowance using the regular stitch length.
Yahtzee 14
Press seam allowance towards top tier and top stitch.
Yahtzee 17
Repeat STEPS 5-7 for the middle and lower tiers.
 Yahtzee 9Yahtzee 15Yahtzee 16
Use a safety pin to help insert elastic (about 4 inches less than the waist measurement) into casing. Pull both ends of the elastic out to sew elastic together securely. Sew opening closed along the edge. Insert a tag or a ribbon to mark the center back.
Yahtzee 18
Sew jumbo ric rac along the bottom edge of the lower tier. Used my stitching line from the hem as a guide.
There you go! Your Yahtzee Skirt is ready to go!
Yahtzee 21
I hope you enjoying making a skirt with fun combinations of fabrics and some contrasts in the style. My little one could hardly wait to wear her new skirt!
Yahtzee 22Yahtzee 24Yahtzee 25
Thanks, Louise, for having me on your blog today!


  1. This is a great interpretation of the theme! Yahtzee has always been one of my favorite games!

  2. Sheila Perl says:

    Wonderful project and instructions!
    I can’t wait to try it!

  3. This is beautiful! I love the color combination you picked! And, now I have an idea for some other great fabrics I’ve had my eye on, too! This is perfect! Thank you!

  4. Cute skirt! I love the splash of color and all the fun fabric!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

