Creepy Crawly Yarn Wreath

Yes, Yes, another yarn wreath! I do love them! I’ve made a few in the past year or so, but these were football themed wreaths! Go Bama! RTR! And they were both gifts… This one is for us!

And a quick tutorial…

As I mentioned before, the original tutorial that I used to get started was here at Take Heart.

1. Materials:

White yarn, the cheap stuff. No need for the fancy yarns!

The straw wreath. And I leave the plastic wrap on.


and Scissors

2. Start the wreath by tying off the yarn.

3. And then you go around and around and around and around and around and ….. Ok, you get the point! It’s actually kind of a workout for the arms going around and around and…. But here’s where the tutorial deviates from the original tutorial. Do the around and around for a few inches and then start over in another section across from the first section. Then go a few inches and switch sides again! The problem with this is that you get the web going , your big ball of yarn won’t fit through the center anymore. At this point I started cutting shorter lengths of yarn are just knotted the pieces together as needed. The knot just gets covered up by yarn as it wraps around and around and around and…. Once you get to the end, leave a longer piece of yarn to tie your spider on.

4. Knot all the pieces in the middle together.

5. start in the center and move around the inside pieces knotting the web yarn as you go. I spaced mine about an inch apart from one another.

6. Wahla!

This weekend we’re going to get the rest of the decorations up! I’ll show more of our holiday decor next week. My son is itchin’ to get in the boxes of decorations! Have you decorated yet???

Shared with:



  1. this one is really good! Spooky too!

  2. Love this. I’ve been thinking of doing a spider web yarn wreath this week…just as soon as I finish all the other Halloween crafts🙂

  3. Do you remember what was the width and length of the fabric you used for the bow?

    • hmmmm… I don’t! I started with black fleece and I know I cut it 3 inches wide, and maybe 4′ long. I needed it long enough to get the drop I wanted and the big bow. But the fleece stretched too much, so I replaced it with 2″ wide grosgrain ribbon. And probably the same length. If it wasn’t packed away in the attic, I’d get it out and check for sure for you. But I do know the width and the length would be dependant on where you were hanging it. Anyway…. Hope that helps! Thanks for reading!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

