Quilt #3 Finished! Finally!

I know, I know, everyone else seems to be blogging about Halloween… So maybe I should be too?? Well, don’t fret, I will again on Wednesday. But today, I just couldn’t wait any longer to show off my latest quilt!

I’ve written some process posts about this one, here, here and here. It actually started as my 4th quilt but ended up being the third one I finished, so now it’s quilt Number 3. The dragonfly quilt for my adorable little niece, Haley.

For this one the backgrounds for the front and back are all thrifted fabrics. I was excited about my fabrics. The purple top  (although it does look blue in the top picture, it’s purple!) is the almost exact color of Haley’s room. And then, I was so lucky to find the swirly back that matched the colors on the front perfectly! And doesn’t the swirly remind you of the dragonfly’s flight path??? The binding is from a sheet set I had about 20 years ago that I found at my Mom’s house. It matched the purple perfectly!

The small pieces and the dragonflies are made from fabrics given at the baby shower. Using fabrics I found and fabrics given at the baby shower make this quilt a super special gift that included a bunch of friends and family. For babies I like to make the quilts have some sort of tactile interest. Like in my very first quilt,  (and if you go look, please excuse the photography…. I was new to the blogging thing at the time..) the owl’s wings are sewn down so that they can flap around. On this one I thought about doing the same thing with the dragonfly wings, but they would have flopped around too much. I finally decided to make the eyes POP out! I stuffed them with fill as I was sewing them down.


  1. That is so cool! And all thrifted fabrics? Awesome!

    • I'm Feelin' Crafty says:

      yes, all thrifted! So I did have to cut around a couple of little spots here and there, but it worked out perfectly!

  2. Sheila Perl says:

    The quilt is beautiful, and I love the dragonflies and their “popping” eyes!
    What a wonderful idea to have shower guests bring fabrics so you can make a quilt! hmmm, but then you have to make the quilt don’t you?!
    and you DID so hooray!! Good job🙂

    • I'm Feelin' Crafty says:

      Yep, that’s the deal… Someone does have to make the quilt! But I love it, so I actually suggest that party game! Thanks for the kind words.

  3. this is gorgeous!!!!

  4. Amazing! So beautiful! Great job!

  5. Haley is one lucky little girl to get this gift which is sure to be an heirloom one day! I love the vertical strips as opposed to squares…..beautiful!!!!

  6. This is just beautiful! Love it!

  7. I’ve always wished I knew how to quilt! They look beautiful!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

