I’m the Lorax And I Have a Tutorial!

And I speak for the trees!

I’m super excited about the movie coming out TOMORROW! Yea!! If you’ve been reading for a little while, you’ve probably noticed I LOVE DR SEUSS stories! I think my son’s birthday party might have given you a hint!

Did anyone go to the story time at Target last week?? I really wanted to because I know they give away things too… But of course, I forgot. But my best pal back home didn’t forget! She was telling me about all the cool things they got and one of the many fun things they got was a Lorax mask. I asked her to send a picture, but she never did… (hint hint…. in case you’re reading this….) Anyway, ever since she told me about the mask I haven’t been able to get the idea out of my head. But how would I make it? I had no idea what to make it out of….

That is until I found these great little poofs! I was actually looking for feathers for this little hat I’m making. But with the bright and perfect find of feathers I found, there were these little poofs! And there just happened to be 2 orange ones! I thought that they were little hair ties or something, but the receipt called them wine glass charms. Who knew??

I even went back to the store the next day thinking that maybe I had missed some orange ones. I needed more for eyebrows, you know! But nope…. So there’s no eyebrows…

Ok, I have to say, I’m totally in love with my Lorax mask!! Even the Gak (I think we have the only one in town you know) is smiling about it!

If you can get to JoAnn’s and find some orange poofs (or wine glass charms, if you’re feeling too sophisticated to call them poofs…. I actually like saying Poof! Say it with me, poof poof poof! You kinda just start smiling if you say poof too many times! I digress). Ok, I’ll start over… If you get to JoAnn’s, that’s where I found mine,  and find some poofs you can make your own as well! or what else would you use if you don’t have poofs? I’d love to know!

And here’s how I made mine!

Step 1: Materials:

2 orangey yellowish poofs

heavy cardstock. I used orange, but you can’t really see it in the end, so it doesn’t really matter what color it is.


hot glue gun

orange fleece

a stick. Could be a popsicle stick, but I just happened to have some fancy fan sticks left over from my wedding (yes, that was almost 6 years ago and I still have them. I don’t get rid of craft supplies very often!).

Step 2: Cut out the back. You can download my template by clicking here.

Step 3: Cut out the little fleecy nose. I did mine the orange. My husband thinks it should be black. The movie, it’s orange. THe book, it’s both. SOme pictures orange, some black…. It’s up to you, of course. Notice the shape I cut my fleece… So it’s round on the bottom, but will fit and wrap around the circle nose.

Step 4: Hot glue the fleece to the back.

Step 5: Hot glue the fleece down on the back of the nose.

Step 6: This is how the nose looks!

Step 7: Hot glue on the poofs.

Step 8: Hot glue on the handle stick.

And wahla….  A 15 minute, no sew, Lorax mask!

And while I was making the poof mask, my son was making his own version of the Lorax mask. Ahhhh… another way to go.. Layers of fleece will work if you can’t find the poofs!

Have fun! I’m about to buy my tickets to the movie now….

And of course, Happy Birthday to You, Dr Seuss!

Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. stephanie says:

    I’m wondering if you have any of the truffala trees available. They are so neat! My daughter is having a Lorax party tomorrow and I’d love to purchase some from you.

    I’m in the Seattle area.

  2. Where did you get that Yack?? I’ve been trying to imitate it out of cardboard but i noticed yours was made out of wood. It would make a great addition to my nephews Dr. Suess themed first birthday party.

    • Do you live near Seattle? If so, you are more than welcome to borrow it! My husband made it. He used a projector and traced the image on to plywood and then cut it out and painted. He first tried it in cardboard as well, but that didn’t work and went to the plywood. Again, if you live near Seattle let me know!!! Have a fun party!

  3. Would you please share with me where you found the wine glass charms? My son is OBSESSED with The Lorax.

    • I got them at Jo-Ann’s! They were in the floral deptartment and supposedly the woman told me that they always carry them, but the colors change with the seasons. I don’t see them online. I did see this feather poof, though that could work. Or the feather boas are probably starting to hit the Dollar Tree stores, and you could probably make that work too… I’m sorry that I can’t find it online for you!

    • Check out this Etsy site for feather puffs

      I don’t know that they have the elastic like the ones I got do, but you could hot glue them…

  4. By chance do make and sell any of the Dr. Seuss items pls respond @ bollingwith5@gmail.com


  1. […] remember the poofs that I’m in love with? The ones I used the other day for the Lorax mask? Well, they make perfect mini Truffula Trees as […]

  2. […] been totally obsessed with two things the last couple of weeks…. The Lorax of course, with the mask and the Truffula Tree… And also Project Quilting. Then along came the Modern Mini […]

  3. […] The Lorax mask is a fun and cute project. The puffs came from a craft store, but you could also use pieces from a […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

