Ways to Hang Mini Quilts…

Since starting my adventure with Project Quilting, I’ve made the most mini quilts I’ve ever made… Ok, this was actually the first time I’ve ever made any mini quilts! I’ve always wanted to, but that was another thing on my To Do List. This has been so much fun!

But what am I going to do with them??? That’s what I’m not quite sure of… But I did figure that more than likely they will be hanging on a wall somewhere. so I experimented with different ways to hang them…

My first Project Quilting quilt, I didn’t actually do anything to hang it! I hadn’t thought the whole thing through yet… But I had started thinking more about it by the Second Challenge. For this one I made took a strip about 1.5 inches wide and almost the length of the quilt. Put a little hem on the ends, folded it over and then secured it in under the binding.

But when I hung it on the wall, the quilt rolled and the hanging piece shows over the top of the quilt….

So then we moved on to Challenge 3. Since this one was so small, I tried the triangle in the corner approach!

And I like it! It hangs well, but I’m not sure that it would work for any quilts much larger than this one.

For Challenge 4, I made this quilt to be shown either side, so again I didn’t experiment with hanging styles. I’m sure there’s a way to display a quilt from the front and back, but I don’t know what it is.  I mean you could use clips, but I don’t know how to incorporate it into the quilt…

The third times a charm they say, right?? For my Challenge 5 quilt, I tried yet another technique. My third technique… And so far it’s my favorite!  Like the first hanging technique, I cut a piece of fabric almost the length of the quilt and hemmed the ends. The difference with this one is that I sewed down one side with the first line of quilting. (So it works with the quilting pattern, but it might not work with all quilting patterns!) and then folded it over and pinned it so that the other edge of the hanging strip is sewn in under the binding.

Please excuse the binding details…. Pretend that’s a beautifully sewn corner detail!

It hangs great! You don’t see the hanging strip and it lays quite nicely!

What’s your favorite mini (or regular) quilt hanging techniques. I’m sure there’s a more detailed way to handle this decision, but I can only share what I know and this is it!


  1. heartsease57 says:

    The first tube would still work, you have to stitch it down by hand at the bottom of the tube, just going through the back-don’t catch the front in the stitch. Hand stitching sounds tedious if you have never done it, but it is actually very relaxing. I hand stitch all of my bindings, it is my favorite part of finishing the quilt.

    • Ahhhh! That makes sense! When I make large baby quilts or quit gifts, I always hand stitch the binding as well. Can’t say I share the love for it that you have. But since I got one of those leather thimble pieces and it makes it much more enjoyable!!🙂


  1. […] You don’t have to do a quilted back of course, but it can be a good way to use up scraps. This post by I’m Feelin’ Crafty was used as inspiration for the corner and top flaps to hang the […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

