Project Quilting- Challenge 6- Zig Zag

OK, this was another challenge that stumped me… not the zig zag part. I’ve got that figured out… The background of my Tool quilt was technically a zigzag quilt… But this is that part that stumped me, ‘Your challenge is to go beyond the basic zigzag quilt.’

I looked online at images of zig zag quilts and there are actually quite a few different ones. But then I thought about the quilts I’m obsessing about now…. The Gee’s Bend quilts! They are beautiful and it’s these quilts that got me into quilting in the first place! I used two inspirations from the Gee’s Bend Quilts, ….

The first one is a ‘Bricklayer’ pattern by Qunnie Pettway. The second two images show the little triangle areas that inspired my ‘zig zag’. These two are ‘strips and strings’ quilts by Mary Lee Bendolph. Both images come from the book Gee’s Bend The Architecture of the Quilt.  Well, I have to say, trying to make a quilt look as fantastic as these Gee’s Bend quilts are is not an easy task! This one that I did is growing on me, but it’s definitely a far cry from the magnificent Gee’s Bend-esgue look I was going for!

This is another purely scrap quilt. My idea was to not measure anything. just sew and trim as I went along. But as I was nosing through my scrap baskets I found a lot of already cut strips that I decided to you ahead and use!

If you’ve noticed… I’m a bit shy with my quilting. Typically I do the ‘Stitch in the Ditch’ technique, so all my stitches are in the folds between the pieces of fabric. But this time, I wanted to stay as far away from the ditch! And that I did! I let the ‘zig zag produce the quilting pattern.

I sketched out my design and asked my husband if he thought it was a zig zag and he shook his NO! But despite his opinion, I went with it anyway. He still is saying it’s not a zig zag, but to me, it’s my interpretation of  a ‘zig zag’ and I think it works. Actually, my husband really likes it, he’s just not real sure about the ‘zig zag’ meeting the rules of the quilting challenge!

And for the back I decided to do another experiment. Remember the other day when I showed the ways I hang my little quilts? Well, I had done this triangle corner technique on a little tiny one, but wasn’t sure if it would work no a larger size. So, I thought why not give it a try… And it hangs beautifully!

And that’s the end of Project Quilting…. Not the end of mini quilts for me, but it’s our last challenge for Project Quilting. And I’m bummed. I had such a great time doing this. I’m so glad that I did. I got to try out a lot of different things and design quilts that I might not have done if I hadn’t joined in. I can’t wait for the next round!!


Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. […] away! I would so love to make a quilt like this for Jude (who would die at the sight of it)  I’m Feelin’ Crafty shared a beautiful quilt. Seeing quilts like this make me want to get into quilting… I love the idea of […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

