Overcoming My Fear of Cake Decorating!

I do consider myself a pretty good baker! My red velvet cake gets rave reviews… But not so much the icing or decorating… Until yesterday!

Hopefully my mom is sitting down when she reads this, because she’s going to go into shock! I made my own cream cheese icing yesterday! I bake from scratch, but I’ve always bought my icing… I know, the icing is super easy. I’ve watched my mom and I’ve seen the recipes. easy. But for some reason, after I bake, I’m not ready to make icing, too…

Here’s the thing. My son’s pre-school auction was last night and they have a dessert dash. each table raises money for the desserts and the table with the most money raised gets the first choice. So of course I volunteered to bake a cake. Then the organizer told us that they need to be pretty. I FROZE! Pretty? I can do tasty, but pretty????? AHHHHHH!!!!

(You’ll notice that you don’t really see many pictures of my son’s Dr. Seuss party cake…. And the one that I did show, shows you exactly what I’m talking about…)

So, I had pinned this easy tutorial from Annie’s Eats, and wahla….

I got a cake decorating kit for Christmas and now I’m excited, rather than intimiated, to try it out! I know I’m not Bakerella or anything, but I’m on my way!

Happy Weekend everyone! I’m about to take my sewing machine outside and sew outside today! It’s too beautiful here to sit inside and sew, but I need to get some sewing done…

Shared with these link parties!


  1. It looks beautiful! Yum!!

  2. nannie says:

    Amazing!!! And Shocking! Bet it is delicious too!

  3. That looks really cute and it seems easy too! I’m going to have to give it a try.


  4. Wow! It’s just gorgeous! Can you email me a piece? Just a small one pretty please…

  5. Beautiful cake!

  6. Loved your bake, it looked so beautiful =)

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

