An Artful Trip Through Alabama!

Steel Quilt Company Giveaway is here!

We’ve been back from vacation for a little while now, but I’m finally getting to that part of my story! I’ve been excited to share some of our adventures in my Sweet Home Alabama. And a couple of giveaways (Stay Tuned!)….

A little history, if you’d like… My family (parents, grandparents, etc) is from Alabama, but I was born in Texas and then we moved to Bama on my tenth birthday. It was not an easy adjustment for me! And I have to admit, I never fully appreciated Bama until I left. I guess that’s partly being a teen-ager and partly that whole saying, ‘The grass is always greener on the other side….’ But once I left home, I knew I had something great back home! And honestly, it’s only been over the last 6 or 7 years that I’ve come to find how much amazing art comes from my home state!

And just in case you don’t know about some of it, I’m going to share it with ya over the next week or two! I hope you enjoy this little journey as well!

Ready??? Here we go!

We flew home, grabbed a bite to eat with my mom, drove to my dad’s house, spent the night and then we were off for a family adventure to the NE corner of Alabama. Where I went to summer camp as a kid! Mentone, AL! While in this area we took in a few caves and waterfalls, which were all beautiful! And so fun. Our first stop was Little River Falls in the Little River Canyon. Our first place to take our shoes off and put our feet in the water and sit in the sun!!! Which was very much needed after a Pacific NW winter!

Warning::: You might want to stop and put on some sunglasses, our white, white legs are a bit blinding!

My husband and I love old buildings. So while we were driving around, from falls to caves, we found this cool old factory building only to find out that it was an antique and art gallery. So of course we jumped out to see what was inside! The first thing I saw when I walked in was this really cool quilt pattern art made of metal and wood.  I loved it! But left it there.

We got back in the car and I googled the artist, The Steel Quilt Company. My husband was driving around the building and while I was trying to find out more about this artist, I happened to look up and saw their sign! Right there in the building! You can google anything,but man, pay attention to what’s going on around, because I would have missed it if I had stayed online!

On our way to Sequoyah Caverns I found some barn quilts! I was sooooo excited! I just learned about the whole barn quilt thing a few months back and they aren’t common in the South at all. So to see one, was very exciting. Even my husband was pulling over and pointing them out. But it was the only barn quilts we saw!

Now barn advertising, on the other hand, that was everywhere!

And Sequoyah caverns… AMAZING! Getting off the interstate and to the caverns was a bit like stepping into a world left behind, but that only added to the adventure. A bunch of rusted out and abandoned buildings and cars, but…..  The caverns were great! The best cave I’ve ever been too. And it was us, the tour guide and some bats. How cool is that???

So that barn quilt by The Steel Quilt Company… Literally, I kept thinking about it. And I kept bringing it up to the family. So the next day when I brought it up AGAIN, it was quickly decided that we’d go back for it. And that’s what we did. We went back and I got myself my favorite one!


  1. I’m originally from Pennsylvania, but I’ve been living in NE Alabama for the last few years. I’ll have to go check that out!

  2. I love the steel quilt art! I clicked on the link to find out more (like, how to order one for my mother!), but it redirects me to their Facebook page and I do not have an account. Any information on how to contact them via email/website other than driving down to Alabama?!? Any information would do. Thanks! BTW…very jealous about the one you picked🙂

    • Yes, the links do go to FB. They don’t have a blog or online shop, yet! I’ll email you, but stayed tuned tomorrow for more information!

    • The Steel Quilt Company says:

      I have a page on I think you need an invite. Let me know and I will send you one. BTW…I am diligently working on a simple webpage. I will notify Louise when I have it ready. Thanks again to everyone for thier inspiring words…..

  3. Rodney Johnson says:

    It’s a shame that Sequoyah Caverns is now closed!


  1. […] again! Remember alllllll the way back to yesterday when I told you about The Steel Quilt Company?? Well, today, there’s even more great chatting about […]

  2. […] Well, Today it’s a giveaway! Yes, I already have one, but I really love this one too! Straight from Fort Payne, AL to you and you don’t even have to leave your home. Although, I do highly recommend a trip to AL! […]

  3. […] right! I’m still on a roll with my family’s adventures down South! I’m so excited about all the kind words about the Steel Quilt Company that I found and about […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

