The Steel Quilt Company- A Giveaway!!

Yea!!! It’s a giveaway!!! Did you read about The Steel Quilt Company yesterday??

Well, Today it’s a giveaway! Yes, I already have one, but I really love this one too! Straight from Fort Payne, AL to you and you don’t even have to leave your home. Although, I do highly recommend a trip to AL!

Nathan graciously agreed to make one of my readers a VERY HAPPY STEEL QUILT OWNER! And it could be you!!

And if you didn’t read about them yesterday, be sure to check it out!


Ready to WIN? You have FIVE ways to enter! And come back and leave a separate comment on this post for each entry!

1) Leave a comment below telling us why you love it so! Leave one comment. (one entry)

2) Become a fan of The Steel Quilt Company on Facebook. Leave one comment. (one entry)

3) Become a fan of Feelin’ Crafty on Facebook. Leave one comment. (one entry)

4) Subscribe to Feelin’ Crafty.  Leave one comment. (one entry)

5) Share the Giveaway on your blog/FB/tweet. Leave one comment. (one entry)


That’s 5 possible entries! You must comment on this post to win. The giveaway will close on Friday, May 25 at 5 p.m. PST. and I’ll choose one winner using


This giveaway is for US address only, sorry.


This giveaway is a part of Sew Mama Sew’s 2012 Spring Giveaway Day!


  1. Oooooo, I want to WIN so badly! My Mother has quilted all her life (and I even made a few myself), so I would love to win this beautiful steel quilt! Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. This would make a wonderful gift for my mother! So unique and colorful! Thanks for such a wonderful giveaway!!

  3. This is so awesome! It would be great in my workshop, inspiring me to quilt some more! I love the colors, and what a great idea.

  4. I’m now a fan of the Steel Quilt Company on facebook.

  5. These pieces are so interesting and I love the one you’re giving away! Its beautiful!!! Thanks!

  6. And I just became a Steel Quilt Co fan on their FB page!!

  7. Sandi H says:

    Beautiful and original!

  8. carolsutmac says:

    I am in love with the metal quilts. I was fascinated by the story of the quilts and the underground railroad!!

  9. Oh, these are lovely. I think I’d have to keep it for myself.

  10. I facebooked about this, of course!

  11. Would love to win one of these for our sheep barn on our farm in Maine! Wonderful interview, really impressed by the work of the Steel Quilt Co., and their use of textile history in their art. It is important to teach and keep these stories alive, and they do it so beautifully. Kudos to all, and thank you for sharing.

  12. Nancy Bemboom says:

    This inspires me to try those ideas I never seem to have time to do. While I don’t quilt, I love the colors and geometry. Would be wonderful art for my home.

  13. DeeAnn S says:

    I would love to have this to hang on my wall. These truly are works of art. Thanks so much for sharing your them with us.

  14. Kelly Sasman says:

    What I LOVE about the metal quilts is not only just how incredible they look, but also that they tell the story of the underground railroad. I have read and attended an exhibit about it. Such an important art of history.

  15. Kelly Sasman says:

    I am a fan of Feeling Crafty on FB.

  16. Kelly Sasman says:

    I already subscribe to Feeling Crafty through Google but under the name Buckskinbelle.

  17. Lisa Garrett says:

    I love it because it is so unusual!!

  18. Lisa Garrett says:

    I liked Steel Quilt on FB: Lisa Holmes Garrett

  19. Lisa Garrett says:

    I liked Feelin Crafty on FB: Lisa Holmes Garrett

  20. Lisa Garrett says:

    I subscribed via email.

  21. I’m a quilter, and my father was a civil engineer at a structural steel fabricating company, so this art would represent both of us.

  22. Lisa Garrett says:
  23. I’d love to win because it’s so unique. abailey_crace at yahoo dot com

  24. This piece would look fabulous above my brick fireplace! Being a metalsmith myself I can olny imagine the work involved in these creations. Thanks for this wonderful opportunity

  25. Brandi Green says:

    I went to high school with Nathan, and I am just so impressed and proud of his success!! i love his work!!

  26. I like The Steel Quilt Co on FB(Sharon Siqueiros)

  27. I like Feelin’Crafty on FB(Sharon Siqueiros)

  28. I subscribe to Feelin’Crafty via email
    lunrei at yahoo dot com

  29. I love that he uses patterns from the Underground Railroad. Thanks for sharing the meaning of a few of them.

  30. I liked The Steel Quilt on facebook.

  31. I liked Feelin’ Crafty on facebook.

  32. I subscribed by email.

  33. marymac says:

    This would be beautiful on my barn.

  34. marymac says:

    I subscribe

  35. Susan Kat says:

    I am especially thrilled to learn about the metal quilt blocks such as are on barns. I belong to a local group making two quilt blocks each month from a book about “Barn Quilts”. Can’t wait to share info about these “Metal Quilt blocks” at our next group get-together! Thanks so very much for sharing about them and the artists who are making them.

  36. Jane S. says:

    I love traditional designs that are made with untraditional materials, these steel art quilts are a perfect example of that! Really a unique take on quilts. 🙂

  37. OMGosh I have to have a Steel Quilt. Pair it up with my Barnwood Barn Stars. Pick me please.

  38. I liked you on Facebook

  39. I liked Steel Quilts on Faccebook and I am excited about these folks.

  40. I am a follower of your blog.

  41. I liked The Steel Quilt Company on Facebook.

  42. I can’t believe they are just up the road from me! I can’t wait to check out their quilts. I really like the piece you got.

  43. Emily C says:

    I love this because it is new, different, and this will make an awesome conversation peice.

  44. Peggy Roberson says:

    It’s been my dream to sew a quilt for my bed, and having a wonderful piece like this hanging on my wall, would give me inspiration to make that dream happen!! Thank you for a most generous giveaway!

  45. wordygirl says:

    I love the way they take patterns that are usually represented in soft fabric and are translating them into something more tough and enduring. Also , as the granddaughter of a farmer who is now living in the country, I appreciate the use of rustic materials. Thanks so much for introducing me to these outstanding craftspeople.

  46. Nathan Winkler says:

    I am extremely humbled by all the response….thanks to you all for your kind words and to Louise for featuring me in her blog….I would love to meet each and every one of you..maybe one day. Thanks again!

  47. I’m a newbie starting my first quilt. I’ve watched Elenor Burn series about quilt squares painted on barns in the midwest, I believe. Winning a Steel Quilt square would be so awesome in my “quilting area.” I really like the log cabin square is the one I really like (love). I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

  48. the steel quilt company says:

    i do speaking engagements for quilt guilds and groups….i bring pieces and do a preaentation of my experiences and life since the steel quilts started….truly a life enriching and changing experience…..i wish i was more centrally located!!

  49. I’m a quilter and these are so AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Wow what a talent he has. Would be so cool to win one.

  50. I think the Steel Quilt Company makes some beautiful pieces of art.

  51. I liked the Steel Quilt Company on facebook.

  52. I subscribe to Feelin Crafty through RSS.

  53. I liked Feelin Crafty on Facebook.

  54. Sandy N. says:

    I loved your interview with Nathan. My favorite block is the Jacob”s Ladder that you showed. Just incredible! Thanks for the opportunity to win!=)

  55. Becky Greene says:

    I am a quilter and love seeing traditional patterns in unconventional materials – just like your creation! Wonderful work and great creativity!

  56. Becky Greene says:

    Tweeted the giveaway, too.

  57. Becky Greene says:

    I liked the Steel Quilt Complany’s Facebook page.

  58. Becky Greene says:

    I subscribed to Feelin’ Crafty through RSS feed.

  59. Becky Greene says:

    I also liked the Feeling Crafty Facebook Page. Thanks for discovering this wonderful company and sharing it with us!

  60. Lovely! I love this piece for the folk art feel. It’s great.

  61. Amy Kennedy says:

    This would be AMAZING for my mom! Its perfect in her country home she would loveee it!

  62. jacqueline says:

    i love all things metal and this is just beautiful!

  63. I just read the interview with Nathan and it makes me want one even more. I have never seen anything like this before and have to own one!! His work is soo wonderful!

  64. I tweeted about the giveaway

  65. I liked The Steel Quilt Company on Facebook as Megan C.

  66. I love the idea of using metal to make a quilt block! Beautiful! Thanks for the chance to win!

  67. I would love to win. I have the perfect spot for it!

  68. oh my gosh – mind blown. awesome. i love these so because they are creative, unusual, and because i absolutely adore rusted metal. strange, huh? it’s just the texture and colors that are so appealing to me.

  69. calikisses says:

    Wow, this is amazing. I would have never thought of this idea. So original and creative.

  70. what a fun piece of art to hang in my studio! Thanks for the chance to win!!

  71. This is the BEST giveaway! I love them!

  72. yowza! i love the way that I think of quilts as warm and cuddly, yet here they are modern and hard. that juxtaposition is waaay cool–this would be perfect on one of my walls!! thanks!

  73. Fan on facebook.

  74. I “liked” the Steel quilt company n FB (michele duffy)

  75. SEnt Feelin’ Crafty some FB love! (michele Duffy)

  76. Those are amazing!!! Such a talented guy!

  77. Thanks for the giveaway…I love that it is not made of cloth

  78. Liked on FB

  79. Wow! that is really cool –
    I often teach quilting skills to my 8th grade students, and I love to show different mediums for doing craft projects (I even had them crochet and weave with twizzlers pull and peel candy this year) so this would be perfect to hang in my classroom!

  80. This is awesome, I love the different colors of metal and how they contrast with each other and the background! I make art quilts with mixed media and metal and this would look so wonderful next to my other quilties.

  81. Oh man, this is like the coolest thing ever–industrial quilting!

  82. Liked SQC on facebook.

  83. Fan of Feelin Crafty on Facebook!

  84. It’s tryly unique and none of my friends will have one! I love the clean lines, the roughness of the steel yes the quilted look.

  85. LOVE THIS!!! I’m such a fan of rusty, crusty stuff…perfect! Thanks for a chance to win!

  86. I liked you on Facebook!

  87. I’m following you now!

  88. I liked SQC on Facebook!!

  89. Lovely! A work of art for my craft room. Great unique idea.

  90. Quilts are too awesome to make in just fabric! I love them in wood, on paper, on barns, you name it! Steel – that’s a new one to me, and I would love to have one!

  91. racergirl1313 says:

    I love this! I love the colors and the textures and of course the awesome inspiration. Thanks!

  92. elven johnson says:

    This would look great in my kitchen. Plus knowing that this piece is reclaimed makes me feel good.

  93. What a cool idea. My hubby is crafty and I know he’d love something like this!

  94. Liked SQC on FB!

  95. I love the rustic/classic combo! So fun!

  96. Well how cool is that? I’ve had some wooden quilt blocks forever, and I cherish them, but could never find anything like them again. Now I have!

  97. This is amazing. It’s so unique and interesting and I think it would be so inspiring in my craft room. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  98. Love it! My aunt quilts and her husband can build ANYthing – this would be the perfect gift for them.

  99. Oh wow. I like it because it’s so original. thanks

  100. It’s an amazing piece of art, I’d love to have it around to inspire me

  101. majorasue says:

    That is so cool! I love unusual materials put to new uses.

  102. What a masterpiece. I am starting to create my first quilt and this steel quilt would be the perfect inspiration!

  103. I just subscribed to Feelin’ Crafty

  104. Thank is very cool….my husband is even impressed!

  105. eightleggy says:

    I love this because of my education background. I was a finearts student with an emphsis is textile, print and instalation art. My senior work often involved juxtaposing traditional textiles with unexpected materials.

  106. I love this giveaway. The quilt pattern through metal is such a cool idea!

  107. I love it because it’s a unique way to showcase the art of quilting, plus it’s a great way to repurpose which I love! Thanks for the chance to win!

  108. I’m a new FB fan of the Steel Quilt Company (Rachel E.E. Martorano)

  109. I’m a new FB fan of Feelin’ Crafty (Rachel E.E. Martorano)

  110. triciafreshraspberryquilts says:

    This would look great in my sewing room!

  111. We live on an old ranch on the Wyoming prairie & my husband is always bringing home old glass bottles & other homestead finds when he’s out working the cows. We also have this beautiful copper Oregon Trail piece on the wall that the steel quilt would compliment very nicely! 😉

    Thanks for introducing me to this amazing artwork & thank you for the great interview!

  112. I love it because I’ve never seen anything like it!

  113. like The Steel Quilt Company on facebook

  114. like you on facebook

  115. This is really awesome. Very beautiful work.

  116. I love it because it is so unique!

  117. This is soooooooo great. What an idè to came up with this – I realy love it :-)))

  118. I like The Steel Quilt Company on facebook :-)))

  119. I like Feelin’ Crafty on facebook :-)))

  120. Kris Slader says:

    I love that the patterns were used on the Underground Railroad. Very Cool!

  121. How cool is this?? I would love to own this piece. Thanks for participating in the Giveaway Day.

  122. I LOVE it. There is just something so rustic about it! Its right up my alley!

  123. I liked The Steel Quilt Company on FB

  124. I liked Feelin’ Crafty on FB

  125. I’m following Feelin’ crafty via email

  126. lovin it so different thanks

  127. This is lovely! Thanks for the chance to win.

  128. I follow Feelin’ Crafty on Facebook

  129. I’m a feelin Crafty subscriber.

  130. I follow Steel Quilt on FB

  131. Oh my goodness that’s gorgeous!! So unique!

  132. I became a fan of the Steel Quilt Co. on fb

  133. Julia Carter says:

    i am following via email

  134. Julia Carter says:

    this is sooo original I love that you took something manly and made it into something that is normally associated with women (i.e. quilting) plus it looks great. love it

  135. Ooh those are amazing! I love the texture and sheen of them. They’d be awesome art for anywhere in my house!

  136. unconventional and historic.

  137. sweepsylemur says:

    love it b/c it’s beautiful but manly

  138. sweepsylemur says:

    liked feelin crafty on fb

  139. sweepsylemur says:

    liked steel quilt company on fb

  140. sweepsylemur says:

    subscribed via email

  141. sweepsylemur says:

  142. that is so neat!! how inspiring and creative!

  143. i love when things that are more or less traditional are then made in un-traditional ways..and i love recycled materials..this would be totally awesome wall art!

  144. i liked them on fb

  145. Kris Slader says:

    Liked The Steel Quilt Company on facebook.

  146. Kris Slader says:

    Liked Feeling Crafty on facebook.

  147. This is so cool! I love all things quilty and never saw any art like this. I was just in Dothan Alabama for my lil sis graduation from Wallace College. Beautiful area.

  148. Liked you on FB!

  149. Liked the Steel Quilt Co on FB.

  150. Stacy Kemper Alfano says:

    I love this quilt, it’s so different!

  151. Stacy Kemper Alfano says:

    Signed up for your newsletter!

  152. Stacy Kemper Alfano says:

    Shared on Twitter! @atabanana29

  153. We live in Chicago and love old salvage and architecture finds! This steel quilt would be an awesome conversation piece.

  154. Barbara says:

    I quilt and my husband welds/metal works in his limited spare time. This is a great combination of the two. Awesome!

  155. The Steel Quilt Company says:

    Thanks to everyone for the wonderful comments and for entering the giveaway…I am blown away with all the comments. Thanks again to Louise who gave this ball a HUGE kick down the hill. Lets do it again soon!! Good luck to everyone and remember, if you didnt win this one, I can make you one too!


  1. […] Do you want one too???  Come back later and sign up for the GIVEAWAY!!! […]

  2. […] The Steel Quilt Company- A Giveaway!! – I'm Feelin' Crafty! says: May 11, 2012 at 10:21 AM […]

  3. […] she is hosting a giveaway for a piece by Nathan. Go HERE to get entry details. Contest ends May 25, […]

  4. […] And don’t forget to sign up for the Steel Quilt Giveaway! […]

  5. […] I’m Feelin’ Crafty-A 12×12 original art piece by The Steel Quilt Company. A quilt pattern handmade from reclaimed barn wood and reclaimed barn metal. (ends May 25/USA) […]

  6. […] have you signed up yet for the Steel Quilt Giveaway?? Don’t forget! Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  7. […] so excited about all the kind words about the Steel Quilt Company that I found and about the giveaway piece! The Doo Nanny was tons of fun… Our next art stop was Gee’s Bend! This week I […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

