Modern She Made Me Swap!

I don’t know if I’ve even mentioned that I was playing along with the Modern She Made Me Swap… Do you do swaps? Do you have any idea what they are?? Well, I’m kinda new to them and I’m kinda, I mean, really loving them!

So here’s what I know about them. They are typically flickr groups of crafty/sewing people who sign up to make something awesome for someone else! There’s a Swap Mama that takes everyone that signs up and assigns them a partner. Some swaps you know who your partner is and some you don’t. I don’t know which way I like more… I kinda like being sneaky and not knowing which project is going to end up in my mailbox!! When you sign up you tell the Swap Mama what you like, what you don’t like, what colors you like, and what sorts of things you’d like to receive!

The Modern She Made Me Swap was the first one I’ve done. And it was a secret partner one! So once you’re in and the fun starts everyone starts posting pictures of fabric choices and pictures of their process. And since it’s a secret swap, you have to really play along and watch for the comments your partner posts. The tricky piece to the secret swap is you can’t ask your partner anything directly…. So you can ask questions when you post a picture, but then you just have to sit back and wait and hope that your partner comments…

I knew my partner loved bright colors, so I wanted to do something bright. Then the pin wheel design came to me. I posted my sketches and waited for the comments! When I took the pictures of my sketches, I laid them out on this yellow paper and thought it worked nicely together. The yellow became part of the sketch almost! And then part of the final piece.

In this swap, I was told what my partner wanted, but then I noticed she kept getting really excited about sewing machine covers, so that is what I decided to make! I was able to get her dimensions to make it. I’ve never wanted a sewing machine cover since my machine has one that I never use…. But after making this one, I now really want one!

The one I made is reversible, so the yellow part is quilted, but the underside, the bright orangey floral, isn’t quilted. The pin wheels are appliqued on a pieced square with the wand of the pin wheel. Check out the quilting! What do ya think? I tried to make it look like it was spinning off of the pin wheels… I actually really like it. Hope yall agree!

The other thing I learned about swaps… You don’t just send the main item. You send goodies with the main swap item. I’m glad I didn’t send first or else my poor partner would have just gotten a sewing machine cover. Luckily I figured it out in time and she got the cover, a charm pack, a pin wheel and pincushion, both that match the cover!

And the exciting part… Your gift showing up in the mailbox!! I was so excited today when I got my swap gift. It’s a quilted lightning bug pillow. Honestly, I’m not kidding when I say I was totally shocked. At first I had forgotten that I had one similar in my flickr favorites. When I did the Project Quilting, someone made a lightning bug mini quilt and I fell in love. I even remember running down to show my husband the picture of it! And the one I got today from my swap partner, Tiffany from This Crafty Fox, was just like that with colors that match our living room just perfectly!

Here’s a before and after…. We’ve had this pillow on the couch and chair for probably 4 years now. You can’t see it in the picture, but there’s a stain on it. Almost looks like it got drooled on…. Anyway… To many details?? Doesn’t the new pillow look soooo much more fun???

It’s just perfect! I love it! And I also got a cute little charm pack with gnomes, which I love!! We were just talking about needing another gnome for the flower garden. And my son loves the pillow, too. He’s convinced that I gave it to him (which I didn’t) and he keeps wanting to take it downstairs to his room… Um, it’s MINE, little buddy!

Thank you partner!!

I’m doing another swap now!! I’ll keep ya posted on how it goes! And stay tuned… I have a tutorial on the pin wheel quilt square and a tutorial for the machine cover coming!!

Shared with these link parties!

Ellison Lane Quilts


  1. I love the pinwheel machine cover. I never thought I wanted one for my machine. Or at least I thought I never wanted to take the time to make one! I am seriously rethinking that right now! Very cute!!!!!!!!!

  2. How awesome to get you as a swap partner! Love your sewing machine cover and love the firefly pillow. What a great idea!

  3. love the pinwheels and the colors!

  4. Sheila Perl says:

    I love your sewing machine cover and pin cushion!! Those are MY favourite colours too!!
    The lightning bug pillow is fantastic!! and looks great on your chair🙂
    What a great swap!
    I can’t wait to hear what you do next🙂

  5. Oh my goodness! Your sewing machine cover is over the top cute!!! I love how you quilted it so that it looks like the pinwheels are spinning. And the accessories you made are just as fabulous. I just popped over, read a few of your posts, and I’m amazed at all your talent. I think I’m going to need to stick around for inspiration and hope that a little of your talent rubs off on me!
    Have An Extraordinary Day!!!


  1. […] so I’ve always kinda poo-poo-ed the sewn and quilted sewing machine covers. That is unless I made one for the swap I just did. My partner wanted one, so I tried my hand at it and decided that they are cool and I […]

  2. […] that pin wheel I made for the Modern She Made Swap? The one I made for the swap, was a bit delicate and more for looks than to spin. I’ve been […]

  3. […] a while since I’ve posted a Process Post, it seems like! I had such a  good time with my Modern She Made Swap, that I joined another one… This one is the Modernista Homemade swap. I can’t say too […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

