Let the Games Begin!!!

We started our Olympic excitement with a Melted Bead Ring Wind chime and Medals! As I was hanging the pieces to make our little wind chimes the other day, it came to me… Olympic Rings!! My son is really into gymnastics right now, so we’ve been watching the USA Team Trials on OnDemand and are really excited to see the team in action!

So using the same technique we used to make the sun catchers, we made the Olympic Rings and medals. Put the beads in a muffin tin, cook at 400 degrees for 25 minutes (with the fan on), pop out of the tin and drill holes. Yep, easy as that!

The wind chimes make a great little tinkling sound as they bounce around in the wind. And trust me… I heard a lot of it as I tried to take these pictures on a beautiful, yet windy, day

And then the medals!!! What kid doesn’t want their own medal? And the are fun to make!! Ok, I think I’m having more fun making the melted bead projects than my 3-year-old. He loves playing with them, but making them… He kinda looses interest. Like he ditched me and my bead craft for a water balloon battle with Dad… hmmm….

The Gold, Silver and Bronze! Ok, so the silver is actually clear, but I didn’t have any clear grey or silver beads…

The kiss of Gold! Sweet Victory! What’s your favorite sport??? We’re so excited about gymnastics… Did I mention that already?? Go USA!

Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. I have still not had the time to head up to Pat Catans for the beads, but are you aware of any online places to get a bunch of these beads in bulk or wholesale? If so, please let me know! I want to make a bunch of these for Christmas gifts and I have a great idea for Valentine’s Day too!

  2. Great, let me know if you can find any of them wholesale! Also, after seeing your first suncatcher that you made, I had a great idea to attach a little light bulb behind it and insert it on a plate stand to light it up! What do you think?

  3. Guess what? We headed up to Pat Catans yesterday and we picked up a 5 lb. bag of an assortment of pony beads for only $3.99! Now, I can’t wait to make something!

  4. Sadly, we won’t be watching the Olympics because we don’t have TV anymore. The Olympics were one of the things I actually watched. Woe is me…

  5. Oh my goodness, I love this! Pinning right now and I may have to reblog this!

  6. Reblogged this on Hugs, Kisses and Snot and commented:
    I’ve seen a lot of Olympic inspired crafts out there but this one takes the gold. I’m not going to have time to do this craft myself as we have a busy schedule ahead of us but I still had to share this great idea with all three of you reading this. Check out my blogger friend Louise at I’m Feelin’ Crafty for this super cute craft.

  7. That last picture is too darn cute!! This is such a great idea. Cute too! I’m loving the Olympics and can’t wait to do things like this with my daughter next time around!🙂

  8. Love the idea of melting beads to make the rings! Going to have to try it! Love to have you come link up with us @costours.blogspot.com


  1. […] we’re watching I remembered this post of the Olympics crafts we did 4 years ago and one of my favorite pictures of the kiddo! I love the one above of him […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

