Sew Ready to Play Tic Tac Toe with Joe

Today I’m welcoming Joe from Simple World 123! Joe is not only the creative guy behind Simple World 123, but he’s also my husband! I was artistic and crafty and did some sewing before I met my husband, but for years it had been on the back burner. That is until we started hanging out and then living together. We would spend hours in our basement making art. We had separate rooms, but would chat back and forth while making art. We’ve always bounced ideas off of each other and if you follow our work over the years you’ll see images from my pieces show up in his pieces and images from his pieces show up in my work! But our work is very different!

He isn’t a blogger and doesn’t have a website, but he does have an etsy shop! I’ve gotten some fun feedback from his t-shirts, so I thought it would be fun if he joined in with us and shared a game design. And he did… Today he’s sharing a Tic Tac Toe design. You can do anything with it, but we made a Tic Tac Toe shirt! Joe came up with the design and the idea of having it as a removable piece of the shirt and I did the sewing!

So technically you can print the design and use is as a paper project with no sewing. Or you could make the whole design like I did and not have it on a shirt. Maybe a take and go game for the car or restaurants. Anything really. But Joe’s idea was to make the shirt, so that’s what I made. Feel free to use as much as the tutorial as you’d like!

So if you want to make what we made, here’s how we did it!

Step 1: Gather Materials: Fabric for binding, Fabric for envelope back, printable fabric, t-shirt, velcro, thread, rotary knife and seam ripper. And you can print the images here.

Step 2: Print the design onto printable fabric. Follow your paper’s directions on how to set the image.

Step 3: Cut the pieces. Cut the tic tac toe board to 7.5 x 7.5 inches. The binding needs to be 1.5 x 35 inches. Cut two pieces for the envelope back at 7.5 x 6 inches. For the play pieces cut (5) 2 1/4 x 2 inches squares for the carrot back piece and (5) 2 x 2 inch squares for the bunny back pieces. With the velcro I used (2) 6 inch pieces and (2) 2 inch pieces.

Step 4: Hem over one edge of each of the envelope backing piece.

Step 5: Sew on the velcro. I offset mine about a 1/2 inch from the edge.

Step 6: Iron over the binding.

Step 7: Sandwich the fabric pieces together with the pieces wrong sides together and add the binding.

Step 8:Sew velcro to t-shirt.

Step 9: Sew the play pieces together. Follow these directions!

And there ya go! I debated putting snaps or buttons onto pieces and the board so that they can attach. I debated long and hard over this part of the deign! I decided that the piece just won’t stick to the boarg…

And will you make yours a Tic Tac Toe shirt?

Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. Love this! The three of you are a great team, what fun! Great pictures too; warms my heart.🙂

  2. Another brilliant idea…!

  3. How cool is that! What a great idea, that is just too much fun. I better pin this🙂


  1. […] Tic Tac Toe Shirt and Printable by Simple World 123 […]

  2. […] Do you remember this project? […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

