Sew Ready to Play Sneaky Snacky Squirrel with Craftiness is not Optional

Please help me welcome Jess from Craftiness is not Optional today! I’ve been following Jess’s blog for quite some time now. Like, for example, I remember when she was fixing up the nursery for her second baby and now she’s two…. Jess is amazing with the amount and quality of projects she has. All the time… Not exactly sure how she does it all! She makes me jealous that I don’t have a little girl to sew for because her projects are just so cute. Like for instance this one…

Welcome Jess!

Hi there! I’m Jess, from Craftiness is not Optional! I’m so excited to be a part of the Sew Ready to Play series-I had a lot of fun with my project and can’t wait to see what else is in store!

My girls both LOVE the Sneaky Snacky Squirrel game! I mainly love it for it’s gorgeous design, I’ll admit…but it’s actually a pretty fun game to play. One of those bearable kid games.😉

Sadie loves to pick up the acorns with the cute little squirrel, and put them in the right spot on her trunk. My 2 year old, Charlotte, loves to steal acorns from other people when they’re not looking. Which IS actually part of the game…but she plays on her own terms anyways. haha.

I had this awesome acorn fabric that I’d been hoarding for this project for months now! With the fall season coming it was perfect timing for an acorn dress! So I added some simple acorn pockets to one of my dress tutorials, the Nora dress.

I love how the pockets turned out! I have a little pattern and tutorial for you below.🙂

 You’ll need:
scraps of fabric for top and bottom of acorns
iron on interfacing
matching thread

First cut two of each pattern piece, for each pocket. Also cut two pieces of interfacing with the acorn top pattern.

Then iron on the interfacing to one of the acorn top pieces for each pocket.

Next sew the pieces right sides together, about 1/4″ from the edge…leaving the bottom of the top piece open, and the top of the bottom piece open as well. Did I confuse you yet?😉

Then turn them right side out, clipping the corners if needed. Press with an iron.

Then press under the bottom of the acorn top 1/4″ like so.

Insert the bottom acorn piece into the top piece and pin together.

Then top stitch around the whole acorn top, making sure to catch all layers of fabric in the stitches.

Lastly, pin the pockets to your dress, and sew around the bottom edges of the acorn with matching thread. I also sewed about an inch up into the acorn top to keep it from flopping around too much. Tada! You’re done!

Thanks for having me, Louise!

Thanks again for playing with us, Jess!! (ohhh, I just had an idea of cute little acorn pants for the little guy….. hmmmm, you might be seeing this project again in a boys version)


Shared with these Link Parties.


  1. Oh my goodness!!! this dress is adorable!! and perfect for fall!!! We recently bought this game and I talked about how much I (we) love it on my blog here… And then my daughter saw this dress and immediately asked me to make her one!!😉

  2. Ack, this is sooo cute! Those pockets. Just adorable. And that game looks so fun, I will have to check it out for my little people, too.

  3. SO CUTE! Love the pockets and that print is just PERFECT! Great work as always, Jess!

  4. I LOVE this dress! The game looks really cute too! I just saw it at Barnes and noble. Can’t wait until Maci is old enough for it!


  1. […] Skirt from Craftiness is Not Optional for the I’m Feelin’ Crafty Sew Ready to Play […]

  2. […] Sneaky Snacky Squirrel Dress by Craftiness is Not Optional […]

  3. […] pockets are very easy to put together, and there is a free pattern and tutorial from Jess right here.  There’s interfacing in the top section of the acorn to prevent any flopping, and the size […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

