To Do List- A Band of Pirates!, done

We had a great Halloween! How about you?

The kiddo already had his costume. He got it for Christmas last year and has worn it and worn it and worn it. I went to wash it, and noticed that the tag said spot clean only. But I figured, hand wash would be ok, right? Then I got nervous… So I followed the directions and they were right! The red runs! Easily! So glad I didn’t wash it! But then Wednesday night chocolate milk got spilled on it. Luckily the Pirate Booty Jewels covered it up!

With his costume already being done, I had to sew something! RIght? Most everyone was like, AWesome, you don’t have to make one… But I was sad! I love making his costumes! Instead I switched to Mom and Dad’s. And for some insane reason waited ’til Halloween day to make them…. Dad’s was easy. A sash and a fleece vest. And he wore a pirate party favor hat. And for me, I made a skirt! Tulle on the bottom, shiny black in the middle and red sheer on top. Of course, it all went along pretty well until I went to put it on…. When I sewed on the top layer, I accidentally sewed over the elastic…. I tried to take out the stitching, but it didn’t want to come out, so I got a bit of it out and had to do a little extra cutting of the sheers… (notice no pictures from behind!)

All in all we looked like a crazy band of pirates and had a hilarious night of trick or treating and I marked two things off my to do list!

Unfortunately I think even though I marked two things off my to do list, I think I have to add another… A new pirate costume for the kiddo! Yes, Halloween is past, but that doesn’t stop dress up in our house!