A Wonky Star Quilt Block Tutorial

Like I mentioned on Monday, I’m LOVING the stars right now! And I’m loving them with a little ‘wonkiness’ added in!

WonkyStarTutorial-Title-I'mFeelin'Crafty

The straight up and down ones are cool too, but I’m loving adding them in at a slant! And today I’ll show you how I make them.

Materials. Materials are um, simple… fabric, your cutting tools and thread (not pictured)

WonkyStarTutorial-Materials-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Step 1: Cut your fabrics! You’re going to make the quilt block much bigger than you actually want it to be. For this one I wanted about a 9 inch block with a 6 inch star. (plus or minus…)

WonkyStarTutorial-Step2-1-I'mFeelin'Crafty

You’ll need four corner squares. To make my 6 inch star, I started with (1) 3×3 inch center. I also needed (4) outer corner squares measuring 6×6 inches and (4) middle rectangles that measure 3×6 inches, both out of the background fabric. And you’ll need a pile of scraps about 2×4 inches or so. These star corners I don’t really measure!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step2-3-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Step 2: Putting all the stars points together!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step3-1-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Put the two fabrics right side together and fold over.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step3-2-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Although it doesn’t matter what the size of the star point fabric is, it does matter that it covers the 3×6 rectangle. Like so.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step3-3-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Sew the two pieces together once you get the star point laid out how you like it.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step3-4-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Then iron it flat.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step3-5-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Step 3: Trim!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step4-1-I'mFeelin'Crafty

I love using my little quilting square! You want to trim it so that you again have a 3×6 inch rectangle.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step4-2-I'mFeelin'Crafty

And then trim below to get a straight seam allowance.

Step 4: Repeat. Repeat.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step5-2-I'mFeelin'Crafty

You want to repeat Steps 2 and 3 on the other side of the rectangle for the other star point. And often you can use a scrap from the other side!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step5-1-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Then repeat and repeat and repeat for each side of the star!

Step 5: Sew the squares and rectangles together.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step6-1-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Sew two rectangles to the center square.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step6-2-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Sew one rectangle to two background squares. And repeat with the last three pieces.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step6-3-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Then sew all three pieces together.

WonkyStarTutorial-Step6-4-I'mFeelin'Crafty

And you have a block!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step6-5-I'mFeelin'Crafty

But you have a block that looks like the one above….

WonkyStarTutorial-Step6-6-I'mFeelin'Crafty

And we really want a block that looks like this one (above).

Step 7: Trim!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step7-1-I'mFeelin'Crafty

Rotate the block to the position you want it to be. Then trim off each side. You’ll end up with 4 triangles and one square block!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step7-2-I'mFeelin'Crafty

A wonky star block!

WonkyStarTutorial-Step7-3-I'mFeelin'Crafty

And then you can repeat and repeat and repeat until you’re hearts content! Enjoy!

 

Shared with these Link Parties!