Quilting with the Kiddo

Today was a busy day, but I had a wonderful moment of parenting bliss!


I wanted to lay out the star quilt  with the wonky stars I’m doing for the do. Good Stitches group. My son was home and being very helpful with everything I asked. Yes, sounds kinda like I’m making it up, right? I’m not really! So I knew I wanted to get started on the quilt, so I asked him to join in. He loved it!


He really stood back and looked at each one. Thought about where it should. Laid it out. Then rearranged it! Again and Again. The fun part was that I let him lay out all the blocks. Then we both sat down and rearranged a little here and a little there. Too many of the same size in a row. Bad. Two greens next together. Welllllll… Maybe, maybe not… What about this one here? Well, then, we need to move this one here.

gif creator
picasion.com gif creator online

I had to take a few videos of the process and you’re welcome to take a look! They are on flicker here and here!

He hasn’t quit grasped the concept of white space yet. The holes of no stars were kind bugging him. I still have to make mine and he let me know the sizes and locations that mine need to be inserted!


It was just one of those moments where you totally have one of those ‘melty heart, I want to stay right here’ moments. Unlike other projects where it’s hard to let go of control, this one I totally put him in the driver seat and it was fantastic watching him be inspired by the colors and sizes and create something very special!

What do you think of our final layout??

Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. The layout is lovely, and what a sweetie he is. Moments like these are so precious, way to catch this one on camera!

  2. Absolutely beautiful! Your little man has a talent!

  3. Debi Hassler says:

    What a great little helper and the quilt is going to be so bright and fun! Great block choice for our group!

  4. tamaralikecamera says:

    This is beautiful. What a special thing to do. And great photographs as well!

  5. Love this post!

  6. What a lovely post! Now you’re going to have a beautiful quilt that also has happy memories attached.🙂


  1. […] had been working on my do. Good quilt and made my stars. Then put them together with the other stars and realized my white fabric was […]

  2. […] then I had the help of my kiddo to lay the whole thing […]

  3. […] group member made 2 blocks, and size and any bright color! Once my son and I decided on the layout the quilt finished around 46” by 60”.  The group decided to hang it in the Seattle Modern Quilt […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

